FI
Illinois Sports Medicine

Mission Statement

The University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics Sports Medicine Department is committed to providing comprehensive, state of the art health care and wellness services designed to protect and enhance the well-being of the student-athlete. The Sports Medicine staff and physicians are committed to providing health care in a professional, service-oriented environment in which the welfare of the student-athlete is of the principal concern.

Sports Medicine Staff

Director of Sports Medicine
Paul Schmidt (Northern Illinois '92) | BIO
217-265-8060
schmidtp@illinois.edu
Athletic Trainers
Associate Athletic Trainer
Randy Ballard (Kansas State '99) | BIO
217-244-9160
rballard@illinois.edu
Associate Athletic Trainer
Sam Laingen (Cincinnati '01) | BIO
217-300-7124
mlaingen@illinois.edu
Head Football Athletic Trainer
Jake Naas (Illinois '09) | BIO
217-300-7037
jnaas2@illinois.edu
Assistant Football Athletic Trainer
Eric Streeter (N. Michigan '02) | BIO
217-244-6747
streeter@Illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Melissa Brungard (E. Illinois '08) | BIO
217-244-4921
mbrungar@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Shanti Calabrese (Whitman '07) | BIO
217-300-0422
scalab2@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Jim Halpin (Illinois State '05) | BIO
217-244-6884
jhalpin1@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Jeffrey Jahnel (Iowa '04) | BIO
217-244-8030
jahnel@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Meaghan Naas (Salisbury '08) | BIO
217-333-2829
menaas@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Rachel Rudy
217-244-8274
rachrudy@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Brittany Scott (Michigan '09) | BIO
217-244-3709
bmgill@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Kristen Streeter (Illinois '97) | BIO
217-244-6746
kstreet@illinois.edu
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Chris Walker
217-244-0009
cwalks@illinois.edu
Graduate Assistants
Graduate Assistant
Cole Hartwigsen
217-244-2238
hrtwgsn2@illinois.edu
Graduate Assistant
Kevin Moehn
217-244-6854
kmoehn2@illinois.edu
Graduate Assistant
Meagan O'Grady
217-244-9013
mogrady2@illinois.edu
Graduate Assistant
Anne Schaafsma
217-244-6854
schafsm2@illinois.edu
Sports Nutrition
Director of Sports Nutrition
Chelsea Z. Burkart | BIO
217-300-0405
cburkart@illinois.edu
Team Sports Dietitian
Katie McKinney | BIO
217-333-0117
ktmckin@illinois.edu
Sports Nutrition Assistant
Anna Turner
217-300-0405
aturner9@illinois.edu
Physicians
Team Physician
Dr. Robert Bane | BIO
217-333-6718
rbane@illinois.edu
Team Physician
Dr. Robert Gurtler | BIO
217-333-6718
gurtler@illinois.edu
Team Physician
Dr. Jeremy Henrichs | BIO
217-333-6718
jhenri2@illinois.edu
Team Physician
Dr. Amy MacDougall | BIO
217-333-6718
amymac@illinois.edu
Team Physician
Dr. Jerrad Zimmerman | BIO
217-333-6718
jerradzi@illinois.edu
Support Staff
Insurance Coordinator
Lori Stalter
217-333-6718
lstalter@illinois.edu