Women's Cross Country, Track & Field
Lewis-Smallwood Advances to Finals at World Championships

 
Former Illini Gia Lewis-Smallwood advanced to the women's discus throw finals at the World Championships.
Former Illini Gia Lewis-Smallwood advanced to the women's discus throw finals at the World Championships.
 

Aug. 10, 2013

Results

MOSCOW, Russia -- Former Illinois women's track and field athlete Gia Lewis-Smallwood (1998-01) competed in the qualifying round of the women's discus throw at the World Championships on Saturday. The Champaign, Ill. native placed seventh in her flight with a mark of 61.3m and will compete in the finals on Sunday, Aug. 11 at 8:15 p.m. in Moscow (11:15 a.m. CT).

"Gia has accomplished another one of her goals by making the final," Illinois men's head coach Mike Turk said. "Her performance today may actually be a bit under our expectation based on the season she has had, and her pre-meet training here has been exceptional. Qualifying is the hard part, and now she can focus on the final."

Former Illinois men's track and field star Andrew Riley also traveled to Moscow for the World Championships, and will compete in the qualifying round of the men's 110m hurdles on Sunday, Aug. 11 at 9:40 a.m. in Moscow (12:40 a.m. CT). The first three finishers in each heat, along with next four fastest finishers overall, will compete in the semifinals on Monday, Aug. 12 at 7:05 p.m. in Moscow (10:05 a.m. CT).

Remaining World Championships Women's Discus Throw Schedule:
Final: Sunday, Aug. 11 at 8:15 p.m. in Moscow (11:15 a.m. CT)

World Championships Men's 110m Hurdles Schedule:
Qualifying round: Sunday, Aug.11 at 9:40 a.m. in Moscow (12:40 a.m. CT)
Semifinal: Monday, Aug. 12 at 7:05 p.m. in Moscow (10:05 a.m. CT)
Final: Monday, Aug. 12 at 9:30 p.m. in Moscow (12:30 p.m. CT)

HEADLINES