The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Women's Tennis

    White, Allin Earn All-Big Ten Honors
    Junior Amy Allin earned second-team All-Big Ten honors for the first time in her career.

    Junior Amy Allin earned second-team All-Big Ten honors for the first time in her career.

    April 28, 2011

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Illinois sophomore Rachael White and junior Amy Allin were selected to 2011 All-Big Ten teams for the first time in their careers, it was announced Thursday evening by the conference office. White earned first-team honors, while Allin was chosen to the second-team, which was just added this season. The selections mark the 11th straight year the Illini have had at least one All-Big Ten honoree.

    White went 6-4 in conference matches playing solely at Nos. 1 and 2 singles and ranks second on the team with 17 wins this season. She has been the only Illini to remain ranked in both singles and doubles the entire dual season, reaching as high as No. 92 in singles and No. 9 in doubles with freshman Allison Falkin. The duo leads the team with 17 wins, including nine at the No. 1 spot.

    White also was named Illinois' Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    Allin finished 6-4 against Big Ten opponents playing at Nos. 1 and 2 singles. She currently leads the team with 22 wins, just five shy of her career-high 26 tallied her freshman year.

    Big Ten champion Michigan swept the top individual honors for the second consecutive year, as Denise Muresan was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row, while Brooke Bolender garnered Big Ten Freshman of the Year accolades and Ronni Bernstein was again selected Big Ten Coach of the Year.

    The sixth-seeded Illini topped No. 11-seed Michigan State, 4-0, earlier today to advance to Friday's quarterfinals, where they will face third-seeded Purdue at 1 p.m. CT.

    First-Team All-Big Ten
    Rachael White, Illinois
    Leslie Hureau, Indiana
    Evgeniya Vertesheva, Indiana
    Sam Critser, Michigan
    DENISE MURESAN, Michigan
    Whitney Taney, Michigan
    MARIA MOSOLOVA, Northwestern
    BELINDA NIU, Northwestern
    Kate Turvy, Northwestern
    Petra Januskova, Penn State

    Unanimous selections in CAPS

    Second-Team All-Big Ten
    Amy Allin, Illinois
    Amy Barton, Michigan State
    Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
    Brittany Wowchuk, Northwestern
    Kelsey Haviland, Ohio State
    Jennifer Rabot, Purdue
    Bhavani Tirumurti, Purdue
    Jenny Hois, Wisconsin

    Athlete of the Year: Denise Muresan, Michigan
    Freshman of the Year: Brooke Bolender, Michigan
    Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Rachael White, Illinois
    Kayla Fujimoto, Indiana
    Alexis Dorr, Iowa
    Mimi Nguyen, Michigan
    Dana Guentert, Michigan State
    Mariana Spilca, Minnesota
    Nida Hamilton, Northwestern
    Fidan Manashirova, Ohio State
    Marie-Frederique Bedard, Penn State
    Imogen Golder, Purdue
    Aleksandra Markovic, Wisconsin

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us