The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Women's Tennis

    Falkin, Kopinski Garner All-Big Ten Recognition
    Junior Allison Falkin was named first-team All-Big Ten for the second time in her career.

    Junior Allison Falkin was named first-team All-Big Ten for the second time in her career.

    April 25, 2013

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Junior Allison Falkin was named first-team All-Big Ten, and sophomore Melissa Kopinski earned second-team honors, the conference office announced during the Big Ten Tournament Banquet Thursday night. The awards mark the second career All-Conference accolades for both Falkin and Kopinski, who each garnered first-team recognition in 2012.

    Falkin, who checks in at No. 117 in the national singles rankings, leads the team in singles wins this season with 19, including six at the No. 1 spot. The Roswell, Ga., native also boasts 11 doubles wins when paired with classmate Misia Kedzierski. The duo has notched the second-most victories of any Illinois doubles tandem this year. Last fall, Falkin played her way to the USTA/ITA Midwest Regional singles semifinals, falling just short of a regional championship berth.

    Kopinski plays No. 1 doubles alongside senior Rachael White in every match for the Illini and has played primarily at the No. 1 singles spot as well. The Palos Hills, Ill., native and partner White lead the team in doubles wins with 26. Last fall, the duo took down five ranked opponents -- two in the top 10 -- and won the USTA/ITA Midwest Regional doubles title, becoming the first regional doubles champions for Illinois since 2002. Kopinski also played her way to the quarterfinals of the Riviera/ITA All-American Championships alongside White. Kopinski is nationally ranked in both doubles and singles, coming in at No. 25 in doubles and No. 111 in singles.

    Freshman Audrey O'Connor was Illinois' Sportsmanship Award recipient, given to individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship, ethical behavior and strong academic performance and who have demonstrated good citizenship outside of tennis.

    The Illini have produced at least one All-Big Ten honoree in each of the last 13 seasons and have secured two recognitions for three straight years.

    The fifth-seeded Orange and Blue will take on fourth-seeded Purdue tomorrow at 9 a.m. CT in the quarterfinal round of the 2013 Big Ten Tournament at IU Varsity Tennis Courts in Bloomington, Ind.

    First-Team All-Big Ten*

    Allison Falkin, Illinois
    LESLIE HUREAU, Indiana
    Katie Klyczek, Indiana
    Ruth Seaborne, Iowa
    EMINA BEKTAS, Michigan
    Brooke Bolender, Michigan
    RONIT YUROVSKY, Michigan
    Patricia Veresova, Nebraska
    Belinda Niu, Northwestern
    Kate Turvy, Northwestern

    Second-Team All-Big Ten
    Melissa Kopinski, Illinois
    Sarah Lee, Michigan
    Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
    Stefanie Weinstein, Nebraska
    Veronica Corning, Northwestern
    Mara Schmidt, Purdue

    Unanimous selections in CAPS

    Athlete of the Year:
    Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
    Freshman of the Year: Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
    Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

    Audrey O'Connor, Illinois
    Leslie Hureau, Indiana
    Morven McCulloch, Iowa
    Sarah Lee, Michigan
    Nicole Herzog, Michigan State
    Tereza Brichacova, Minnesota
    Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
    Veronica Corning, Northwestern
    Kelsey Dieters, Ohio State
    Jacqueline Zuhse, Penn State
    Krisztina Kapitany, Purdue
    Helen Rabot, Wisconsin

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us