Women's Swimming
Swimming and Diving Opens 2013 with Intra-Squad Meet

Novitsky begins her 14th season as head coach of the Fighting Illini Swimming and Diving team.
Novitsky begins her 14th season as head coach of the Fighting Illini Swimming and Diving team.

Oct. 11, 2013

 CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The Fighting Illini swimming and diving team will kick off the 2013-14 season with the annual Orange & Blue Intra-Squad Meet Saturday, October 12, at 9:30am. Smack talking is heating up, as the teams will remain the same from last year with the addition of this season's newcomers.

"For the us it's a good opportunity to see our athletes step up and compete," head coach Sue Novitsky said. "There are always some things to address but the meet provides a great competitive environment, setting up our lineup for Nebraska."

Entering this season, the Blue Team lost a number of their members and currently had just 10 members on their squad.  In an unprecedented turn of events the Blue Team drafted all newcomers to their roster to even out the numbers at 15 people on each team.



The Orange Team will be returning a strong team of veterans that came back and took the victory last year by 3 points. Under the arm of coach Novitsky, the Orange Team took some big points last year by winning both relays and wants to continue the trend.  The team also returns event winners Megan Marchuk (200 Free) and Erica Lynn (100 Breast, current meet record holder). 


The Blue Team, headed by assistant coach Alec Hayden, returns a number of event winners from last year: Lori Lynn (200IM & 100 Back), Courtney Pope (100 Free), Hailey Booth (500 Free).  The Blue Team graduated Kathleen Knight, the 100 Butterfly record holder, and hope that they have people ready to step up and compete. A talented group of 5 newcomers will try to boost the team to victory.  



Cara Chuang

Jessica Clifford

Jennifer Coady

Emily Fung

Sabrinne Gibson

Anne Goering

Mary Beth Howard

Erica Lynn

Megan Marchuk

Callan McDermott

Sloane McDermott

Alison Meng

Hollie Smith

Sarah Sykstus

Alyssa Toland



Hailey Booth

Rachel Burke

Alison DeAngelis

Andrea DeAngelis

Kayla Dlugopolski

Stephanie Hein

Jessica Holz

Olivia Kassouni

Lori Lynn

Erika Murphy

Courtney Pope

Isabella Schamber

Amelia Schilling

Gabbie Stecker

Kirsten Zborek



(A competitor may compete in a maximum of 3 events in any combination)

Event 1 - 200 Medley Relay

Event 2 - 200 Freestyle

Event 3 - 200 IM

Event 4 - 50 Freestyle

Event 5 - 3m Diving

Event 6 - 100 Butterfly

Event 7 - 100 Freestyle

Event 8 - 100 Backstroke

Event 9 - 500 Freestyle

Event 10 - 100 Breaststroke

Event 11 -  1m Diving

Event 12 - 400 Freestyle Relay