Women's Swimming
Illini Wrap Up Season with Annual Awards Banquet

Sophomore Alison Meng took home Most Valuable Swimmer honors for the 2012-13 season
Sophomore Alison Meng took home Most Valuable Swimmer honors for the 2012-13 season

May 1, 2013

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The Fighting Illini swimming and diving team concluded the 2012-13 season with its annual awards banquet to honor the swimmers and divers for their performances both in the pool and in the classroom.

Sophomore Alison Meng took home the evening's top honor, earning the Most Valuable Swimmer award. Meng led the Illini with nine first-place finishes on the season while breaking three school records in the process.

Junior Erica Lynn was given the Top Gun Award for being the highest point scorer in dual meets. Lynn led the Orange and Blue with a total of 16 top-five finishes on the season while inducing several changes to the Illinois record books.

Senior Kathleen Knight earned the Allen B. Klingel Athletic Award for her athletic achievements this season. Knight secured eight first-place finishes while climbing to fourth on Illinois' all-time fastest individuals list in the 100 fly.

Senior Erin Lamb received the Allen B. Klingel Academic Award for her success in the classroom. Lamb was named Academic All-Big Ten while boasting a 3.86 grade point average.

Junior Courtney Pope took home the Relay MVP honor for her contributions to several record-breaking relay teams this season.

Freshman Sarah Sykstus was named Newcomer of the Year for her excellent performances throughout her rookie season. The Batavia, Ill., native secured spots on Illinois' all-time fastest individuals list in both the 200 fly (6th, 2:02.52) and 200 IM (5th, 2:03.80).

Senior Keri Eberhardt was awarded the Most Valuable Diver of the year honor for her accomplishments on the boards. Eberhardt led the team in the three-meter dive by scoring a 273.30 against Nebraska.

Junior Alyssa Toland received the Team First Award, while sophomore Erika Murphy earned the Most Improved Diver, accolade and sophomore Megan Marchuk was honored as the Most Improved Swimmer.

The team also honored each swimmer or diver with the highest GPA in her respective class. Freshman Lori Lynn (3.91), sophomore Hailey Booth (3.97), junior Marin Thompson (3.89) and Lamb (3.86) each received the recognition.

2012-13 Swimming and Diving Awards
Most Valuable Swimmer - Alison Meng
Top Gun Award - Erica Lynn
Relay MVP - Courtney Pope
Newcomer of the Year - Sarah Sykstus
Most Valuable Diver - Keri Eberhardt
Team First Award - Alyssa Toland
Most Improved Swimmer - Megan Marchuk
Most Improved Diver - Erika Murphy

Allen B. Klingel Awards
Academic Award - Erin Lamb
Athletic Award - Kathleen Knight

Student-Athlete Awards
Freshman - Lori Lynn
Sophomore - Hailey Booth
Junior - Marin Thompson
Senior - Erin Lamb