The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    Softball Releases 2010 Team Award Winners
    The Illini finished with a record of 45-8 in Terri Sullivan's 11th season as head coach.

    The Illini finished with a record of 45-8 in Terri Sullivan's 11th season as head coach.

    Sept. 3, 2010

    CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The University of Illinois softball team held its annual awards banquet to celebrate the 2009-2010 season on Friday. As with the reception last season, the 2009-2010 banquet was held at the I Hotel and Conference Center where last year's senior class of Hope Howell, Ashley Wright and Bailey Behrens used the opportunity to reflect on their careers and experiences with Illinois softball.

    In 2010, the Illini had their most successful season in program history, finishing with an overall record of 45-8 while being ranked as high as #17 in the country by the NFCA. The Orange and Blue earned a spot in the 2010 NCAA Tournament, where the Illini downed DePaul, 4-2 and 9-1, to earn the sixth and seventh NCAA Tournament victories in program history.

    Individually, Illini were recognized regionally and nationally for their performances. Hope Howell was named ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-District and recognition on the All-Big Ten First Team, Meredith Hackett earned Louisville Slugger/NFCA First Team All-American as well as All-Big Ten First Team honors and Danielle Zymkowitz led the Big Ten in total hits en route to her second All-Big Ten First Team award. Below is a list of all the honorees:

    2010 Illinois Softball Individual Awards
    Slugger Award - Meredith Hackett
    Gold Glove Award - Danielle Zymkowitz
    Pitcher of the Year Award - Pepper Gay
    Igniter Award - Danielle Zymkowitz
    Most Improved Player - Meredith Hackett
    Illini Power Award - Danielle Zymkowitz
    Spirit Award - Ashley Wright
    Kathleen Bryers Award - Danielle Vaji
    Coaches Award - Bailey Behrens & Nikki Simpson
    Scholar Athlete - Hope Howell
    MVP - Hope Howell

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us