Big Ten Announces 2015 Conference Softball Matchups

Head Coach Terri Sullivan is pleased to announce the 2015 conference slate.
Head Coach Terri Sullivan is pleased to announce the 2015 conference slate.

June 25, 2014

Urbana, Ill. - The Big Ten has announced the conference pairings for 2015. The conference schedule will remain as it has been since 2013, with each team playing a 23-game schedule over the course of seven weeks. Every Big Ten team will face eight of its 13 possible opponents, featuring seven three-game weekend series and a midweek doubleheader with one's travel partner.

In 2015, the Fighting Illini will host four weekend series, while hitting the road for three weekend series and a doubleheader at Northwestern. This upcoming year, Illinois will host 2014 Big Ten Tournament Champion Minnesota, Indiana, NCAA Regional qualifier Wisconsin, and Purdue. In addition to the midweek doubleheader in Evanston, the Orange and Blue will travel to Iowa, Nebraska and Maryland.

The Illini will have the opportunity to face one of the two newest members of the Big Ten, making their first-ever trip to College Park, Md., to take on the Terrapins. The Orange and Blue are 2-2 all-time against Maryland, most recently facing the Terps on March 17, 2012, at the USF Under Armor Invitational in Clearwater, Fla. Illinois will not play Rutgers during the Scarlet Knights' first regular season in the Big Ten. The Illini have only faced Rutgers once over the past 15 seasons, defeating the Scarlet Knights, 11-1, on Feb, 29, 2008, in Boca Raton, Fla.

Following the conclusion of the regular season, the conference will gear up for the 18th-annual Big Ten Tournament to be hosted by Ohio State in Columbus, Ohio, on May 7-9. It marks the second time that the Buckeyes will host the postseason tournament, having clinched the number one seed and subsequently won the Big Ten Tournament title at home in 2007.