The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Women's Soccer

    Janet Rayfield announced as 2012 Honor Award Recipient
    Janet Rayfield becomes the first female recipient of the Honor Award

    Janet Rayfield becomes the first female recipient of the Honor Award

    Nov. 9, 2012

    NSCAA Release

    CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced their annual Honor Award with Illinois head coach Janet Rayfield being named as the 2012 recipient. The Honor Award is the most prestigious distinction the NSCAA presents to an individual as it recognizes the individual's contribution to the game of soccer and to the NSCAA. Rayfield is the first ever female recipient of the award, which has been presented yearly since 1942.

    Rayfield served as the NSCAA president in 2003 and is currently an NSCAA Senior National Staff coach. She will not only accept the Honor Award at the 2013 NSCAA convention in January, but is also a featured clinician at the event. 

    Rayfield's resume is undoubtedly an impressive one that includes serving as scout for the US Women's National Team, National staff coach for the US Youth Soccer Region II Girls Olympic Development Program and assistant coach for the U-20 US Women's National Team. This past September, Rayfield and the U-20 US squad brought home a gold medal after defeating Germany in the U-20 World Cup in Japan.

    "Janet is one of the best coaches in America. She is outstanding in everything she does," said US Women's U-20 head coach Steve Swanson. "Janet deserves as much credit as anybody, as does our entire coaching staff, doctors, trainers…everyone involved with that team."

    Rayfield, who took the helm of the Illini soccer program in 2002, is the all-time winningest coach at Illinois, accumulating a record of 140-79-21. Janet has accomplished much with the Orange and Blue such as developing five Big Ten players of the year, leading Illinois to Big Ten Tournament Championships in 2003 and 2011 and coaching the Illini to nine of their 11 total NCAA Tournament Appearance. 

    Rayfield and the Illini start their NCAA Tournament run Saturday, Nov. 10, at 6:30 p.m. CT when they take on the Missouri Tigers in Columbia. 

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us