The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Women's Soccer

    Brown named to Big Ten's Women's Soccer First Team
    Emily Brown, the  Big Ten's fourth all-time leading scorer, earned First Team All-Big Ten honors Wednesday

    Emily Brown, the Big Ten's fourth all-time leading scorer, earned First Team All-Big Ten honors Wednesday

    Nov. 2, 2000

    Champaign, Ill. -

    The league's second-leading scorer, Illinois junior Emily Brown, was named First Team All-Big Ten Wednesday. Brown scored two goals in the Illini's 3-1 win over Michigan State in their quarterfinal round game. Brown is the Big Ten's fourth all-time leading goal scorer with 45 goals.

    Penn State's Christie Welsh was named the Big Ten Women's Soccer Player of the Year at the Conference's Annual Banquet tonight in Champaign, Ill., Wednesday. Welsh, a sophomore wins the award for the second year in a row after leading the conference in both goals (15) and points (37) despite missing five games due to injury.

    The award wraps up a big day for Welsh, who scored her team's game-winning goal in1-0 win over Minnesota in the Big Ten Quarterfinals earlier in the day. Welsh had been cleared to play just ten minutes before that.

    Brown and Welsh will square off in tomorrow's first semifinal round game. Michigan midfielder Kacy Beitel, who ranks sixth on the list with 41 career goals, was also named to the first team.

    Illinois had two players on the second team. Colleen Joyce, a sophomore transfer from the University of Montana, who was the final BigTen Player of the Week honoree, headlines the conference's second team. Joyce had 10 goals and three assists behind Brown's 14 goals and three assists for the Illini.

    Heidi Holtzman, the "general" of the Illinois defense is a repeat second -team honoree. Illinois posted nine shutouts on the season.

    The third hero of the day, Wisconsin forward Allison Wagner, joins theBrown and Welsh as players scoring goals, winning games, and being named to the first team in the same day. Wagner's first-half goal helped the Badgers tie Purdue. Wisconsin advanced on penalty kicks

    Four freshmen and sophomores made the first team. Iowa's sophomore sensation Sarah Lynch, finished the year with 11 goals and six assists and rounds out the list of forwards on the first team. Penn State freshman Joanna Lohman (3 goals, 6 assists) not only earned first team honors, but also Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Minnesota junior Allison Rackley rounds out the first team midfield honoreers.

    Penn State shut out 13 opponents in 2000. It's no wonder that three of the four defenders and the Nittnay Lions' starting goalkeeper reached the conference's first team. Corner kick specialist Bonnie Young, Megan Mills and Luanne Strom from Penn State join Michigan's Amy Sullivant as first-team defenders. PSU goalkeeper Emily Oleksiuk has given up just eight goals, and is the first team keeper.

    2000 Women's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams

    First Team

    F - Christie Welsh, So., Penn State

    F- Allison Wagner, Sr., Wisconsin

    F- Emily Brown, Jr., Illinois

    F- Sarah Lynch, So., Iowa

    MF- Joanna Lohman, Fr., Penn State

    MF Kacy Beitel, Sr., Michigan

    MF Alison Rackley, Jr., Minnesota

    MF Julie Atkocaitis, So., Iowa

    D -- Bonnie Young, Jr., Penn State

    D -- Megan Mills, Jr., Penn State

    D -- Luanne Strom, Sr., Penn State

    D -- Amy Sullivant, So., Michigan

    GK -- Emily Oleksiuk, Jr., Penn State

    Second Team

    Forward Abby Crumpton, So., Michigan

    Forward Stephanie Smith, Fr., Penn State

    Forward Kate Walse, Sr., Iowa

    Forward Kate Walse, Sr., Iowa


    Colleen Joyce, Jr., Illinois

    Midfielder Jenny Kundert, Fr., Wisconsin

    Midfielder Emily Hotz, Fr., Indiana

    Defender Brooke Bell, Sr., Northwestern

    Defender Heidi Holtzman, Jr., Illinois

    Defender Samantha Meyers, Jr., Minnesota

    Goalkeeper Sara Kloosterman, Sr., Michigan St.

    Freshman of the Year

    Joanna Lohman, MF, Penn State

    Player of the Year

    Christie Welsh, So., F, Penn State

    Coach of the Year

    Tom Saxton, Michigan State

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us