Women's Golf
Ember Schuldt Named All-Big Ten

Ember Schuldt earns the Illini their first All-Big Ten honors since 2008.
Ember Schuldt earns the Illini their first All-Big Ten honors since 2008.

April 29, 2014

B1G Release

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - At Noon on Tuesday, the Big Ten office released its 2014 all-conference teams and individual award winners. Ember Schuldt's four year career donning the Orange and Blue culminated with second-team All-Big Ten honors, marking the first all-conference award for the Illini since 2008. 

The senior also earned the distinction of being named the Illinois Sportsmanships Award honoree. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

"Ember is so deserving of this honor," said Illinois head coach Renee Slone. "It has been a tremendous season for her with nine top-18 finishes in 11 tournaments including six top-10 finishes. She epitomizes the qualities a coach looks for in a student-athlete, and it has been an absolute pleasure watching her progress during the past four years. She has always been one to put the team first, and I just couldn’t be happier to see the fruits of her labor pay off. She will truly be missed next season."

Schuldt becomes just the eighth golfer in Illinois history to earn All-Big Ten honors. The Sterling, Ill., native joins the ranks of Sandy Sutton, Brenda Macconnachie, Justi Rae Miller, Lia Biehl, Renee Heiken, Becky Biehl and Seul Ki Park. In addition, Schuldt currently ranks second on the Illinois career scoring list with a 76.33 stroke average, as Coach Slone holds the top spot at 75.53. 

The Big Ten announcement is fresh off of Schuldt qualifying for the NCAA Central Regional along with freshman teammate Stephanie Miller. Schuldt will be appearing in her third NCAA Regional and her first as an individual, when she heads to Stillwater, Okla. to compete at the Karsten Golf Club May 8-10. 


First Team

Liz Nagel, Michigan State

Hana Lee, Northwestern

Kaitlin Park, Northwestern

Zoe-Beth Brake, Ohio State

Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State

Aurora Kan, Purdue 

Second Team

Ember Schuldt, Illinois

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State

Kacie Komoto, Northwestern

Elizabeth Szokol, Northwestern

Katja Pogacar, Ohio State

Ellen Ceresko, Penn State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Ember Schuldt, Illinois

Elizabeth Tong, Indiana

Jessie Sindlinger, Iowa

Catherine Peters, Michigan

Lindsey McPherson, Michigan State

Anna Laorr, Minnesota

Steffi Neisen, Nebraska

Hana Lee, Northwestern

Claudia Lim, Ohio State

Christina Vosters, Penn State

Aurora Kan, Purdue

Kris Yoo, Wisconsin