Women's Basketball
Penn, GodBold Highlight Award Winners at Banquet

Adrienne GodBold was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year and Karisma Penn was named MVP.
Adrienne GodBold was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year and Karisma Penn was named MVP.

April 14, 2013

Photo Gallery

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Senior forward Karisma Penn was named Illinois' Most Valuable Player at the team's postseason banquet hosted by the Courtsiders Sunday at the I Hotel. Head coach Matt Bollant and his staff celebrated the accomplishments of their first Illini team, which finished 19-14 and reached the quarterfinals of the Women's NIT.

In addition, senior guard Adrienne Godbold was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year, junior guard Amber Moore and sophomore guard Ivory Crawford earned the Most Improved Award, and sophomore guard Eriel Davis and junior guard Cassie Dumoulin were named winners of the Courtsiders Illini Spirit Award.

Penn adds to her impressive list of postseason honors, which include honorable mention All-American and first-team All-Big Ten awards. The Shaker Heights, Ohio, native averaged 19.2 points, 9.6 rebounds, 2.91 steals and 2.18 blocks per game, while shooting 50.6 percent from the field on the season. She was the only player in the nation to rank in the top five in her conference in all five of those categories, standing second in the Big Ten in rebounds and steals, third in blocks, fourth in scoring and fifth in field-goal percentage.

She also led the league in offensive rebounds (3.8 rebounds per game) and ranked eighth in minutes played (35.7 mpg). She ranked 25th nationally in steals per game, 28th in scoring, 29th in blocked shots, 35th in field-goal percentage and 59th in rebounding.

GodBold was the Big Ten's Defensive Player of the Year and a second-team All-Big Ten selection by conference coaches. She ranked second in the conference in steals per game during Big Ten play (3.4 spg), ranked third in offensive rebounds (3.6 rpg), fifth in scoring (17.7 ppg) and 10th in rebounding (7.3 rpg). Overall, she averaged 15.9 points, 7.1 rebounds and 2.95 steals per game. GodBold finished her career with 197 steals, ninth in school history. She also recorded four double-doubles on the year after entering the season with none in her career.

Moore ranked third on the team and 20th in the Big Ten in scoring with 12.5 points per game. She also ranked third in the Big Ten and 34th nationally with 2.61 three-pointers per game. She broke Lori Bjork's single-season three-point field goals record with 86 treys this season and also broke Krista Reinking's single-season three-point attempts record (236) and Reinking's record for career three-pointers attempted (599). She is only eight shy of breaking Bjork's career record for three-pointers made (214).

Crawford emerged as a consistent contributor in 2012-13, averaging 11.8 points per game, which ranked fourth on the team and 22nd in the Big Ten. Her 2.5 steals per game ranked fourth in the Big Ten and 79th nationally, and she scored in double figures in 21 of 33 games this season.

Davis played in eight games, totaling nine minutes. She went 1-of-5 from the field and grabbed one rebound. Dumoulin played in nine games, totaling eight minutes and two assists.

In Bollant's first year at the helm of the Illinois program, the Orange and Blue recorded their best Big Ten record in 10 years with a 9-7 mark, which tied for fifth in the conference standings. They notched their best winning percentage since 2007 with a 19-14 final mark (.576) and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Women's National Invitation Tournament.

Illinois' 19 wins were its most since 2008 and the Illini broke the Big Ten records for steals in all games (417), in Big Ten play (234) and steals per game in Big Ten play (14.6). They also broke school records for turnovers forced (773), three-pointers made (184) and three-pointers attempted (634).

2012-13 Illinois Team Awards
Most Valuable Player:
Karisma Penn
Defensive Player of the Year: Adrienne Godbold
Most Improved: Amber Moore, Ivory Crawford
Ralf Woods Free Throw Trophy: Amber Moore
Courtsiders Illini Spirit Award: Eriel Davis, Cassie Dumoulin