The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Cross Country, Track & Field

    Riley Named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Championships
    Senior Andrew Riley was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and of the Championships for the second time in his career.

    Senior Andrew Riley was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and of the Championships for the second time in his career.

    May 15, 2012

    B1G Outdoor HonorsGet Acrobat Reader

    CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - After a stellar weekend at the Big Ten Outdoor Championships, senior Andrew Riley earned a pair of laurels on Tuesday, as announced by the conference office. The Kingston, Jamaica, native was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year while also being selected as the Track Athlete of the Championships for the second time in his career as he won both awards two years ago as a sophomore. Riley took the top spot in the 100m dash and the 110m hurdles at last weekend's conference meet while also leading off the winning 4x100m relay team. Also, senior Stanley Aziefinished runner-up in the 100m.

    “Both awards are certainly well deserved for Andrew (Riley),” head coach Mike Turk said. “It’s nice that he is being recognized for his accomplishments. This year’s Big Ten Championships was extremely competitive and it says a lot that Riley is being honored by the coaches in the conference. As I have said in the past, Riley is a diamond amongst a lot of gems.”

    Riley becomes the first Illini in school history to win Big Ten Outdoor Athlete of the Year and of the Championships twice in their career and is the sixth Illini to be honored in each category. He joins a list of former winners such as Sherman Armstrong(1999), Marko Koers (1996), Anthony Jones (1994) and Tim Simon (1988). The nine-time All-American also garnered first-team All-Big Ten honors for his first-place finishes.

    At Wisconsin's McClimon Track Complex, Riley notched his third Big Ten title in the 110m hurdles, clocking a time of 13.64 to defeat runner-up Ethan Holmes (13.74) of Iowa. He followed it up by winning the 100m dash with a time of 10.39. However, Riley started his day on the leadoff leg of the 4x100m relay, which defended their conference title from last year, winning in a time of 39.63, a season-best for the foursome of freshman Brandon Stryganek, sophomore Jade Ackermanand Azie.

    Other outdoor track and field awards announced by the Big Ten included Ohio State's Alexis Thomas being named Field Athlete of the Year and Derek Drouin of Indiana picking up Field Athlete of the Championships. Penn State's Robby Creese was named Freshman of the Year while Wisconsin's head coach Ed Nuttycombe was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Badgers to the conference title.

    The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, with freshman Corey Hammonbeing selected from Illinois. The chosen student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sport-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    2012 Big Ten Men's Outdoor Individual Honors

    Track Athlete of the Year
    Andrew Riley, Illinois

    Field Athlete of the Year
    Joe Kovacs, Penn State

    Freshman of the Year
    Robby Creese, Penn State

    Track Athlete of the Championships
    Andrew Riley, Illinois

    Field Athlete of the Championships
    Derek Drouin, Indiana

    Coach of the Year
    Ed Nuttycombe, Wisconsin

    First Team
    Jade Ackerman, Illinois
    Stanley Azie, Illinois
    Andrew Riley, Illinois
    Brandon Stryganek, Illinois
    Andrew Bayer, Indiana
    Kind Butler, Indiana
    Derek Drouin, Indiana
    Zachary Mayhew, Indiana
    Matt Byers, Iowa
    Troy Doris, Iowa
    Craig Forys, Michigan
    Jack Greenlee, Michigan
    Quentin Mege, Minnesota
    Bjorn Barrefors, Nebraska
    Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska
    Brandon Bennett-Green, Penn State
    Brady Gehret, Penn State
    Joe Kovacs, Penn State
    Casimir Loxsom, Penn State
    Aaron Nadolsky, Penn State
    Mohammed Ahmed, Wisconsin
    Danny Block, Wisconsin

    Second Team
    Darius King, Indiana
    Nick Stoner, Indiana
    Tyler Sult, Indiana
    Chris Vaughn, Indiana
    Ethan Holmes, Iowa
    Ali Arastu, Michigan
    Ethan Dennis, Michigan
    Hassan Mead, Minnesota
    Davis Pachuta, Minnesota
    Jack Szmanda, Minnesota
    Chris Phipps, Nebraska
    Luke Pinkelman, Nebraska
    Chad Wright, Nebraska
    Cory Leslie, Ohio State
    Brady Hammon, Wisconsin
    Kyle Jefferson, Wisconsin
    Japheth Cato, Wisconsin
    Elliot Krause, Wisconsin
    Garret Payne, Wisconsin
    Drew Simmons, Wisconsin
    Derek Steinbach, Wisconsin

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Corey Hammon, Illinois
    Tyler Sult, Indiana
    Jeff Heron, Iowa
    Nick Neuman, Michigan
    Jay Gillespie, Michigan State
    Sam Kettenhofen, Minnesota
    Tim Thompson, Nebraska
    Matt DeChant, Ohio State
    Logan Caldwell, Penn State
    Josh Lee, Purdue
    Kyle Jefferson, Wisconsin

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us