Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
No. 14 Illinois Closes Out Regular Season This Weekend

Stephon Pamilton and the Illini conclude the regular season this weekend.
Stephon Pamilton and the Illini conclude the regular season this weekend.

May 2, 2014

Musco Heat Sheets | Musco Schedule | Musco Live Results | Payton Jordan Live Results

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- The Illinois men's track and field team will conclude the regular season at the Musco Twilight on Saturday, May 3. Field events begin at 1:00 p.m. CT, while running events are set for a 3:45 p.m. start. No. 14 Illinois will take on three conference opponents including host Iowa, No. 11 Nebraska and Minnesota.

Representing the Illini in the 100m will be Julian Smith, DJ Zahn, Fuad Akinbiyi and Maurice Watkins. Smith currently holds the fifth-fastest 100m time in the Big Ten, while Zahn's season-best mark ranks just outside of the top-10. Brandon Stryganek currently ranks third in the Big Ten in the 200m and will run in the event on Saturday alongside Akinbiyi. Defending Big Ten champion Stephon Pamilton will compete in the 400m alongside teammates Cam Viney and Kenneth Allen. Pamilton currently holds the third-fastest 400m time in the Big Ten, while Viney will take a break from running the 400m hurdles to compete in the 400m for the first time this season.

Five Illini will compete in the 800m, led by Joe McAsey who holds the team's fastest time of the season. Zebo Zebe, Josh Jones, Malik Lee and Maurice Watkins will also compete in the event. In the 1,500m, Graham Morris will join teammates Garrett Lee and Paul Zeman, while Cam Viney and David Kendziera will represent the Illini in the 110m hurdles. Kendziera will also compete in the 400m hurdles alongside teammate Peter Bremhorst.

Field events kick off with Davis Fraker in the hammer throw, along with George Wayda in the long jump. The Orange and Blue will have four representatives in the pole vault, led by senior Cody Klein. Klein currently ranks fourth in the Big Ten in the event and will compete alongside teammates Blaze Galardy, Brandon Carrel and Mitch Mammoser. Brandon Noe will compete in the invitational section of the discus and in the shot put, while Ryan Michel is set to compete in the high jump. Triple jumper Branden Tanthavong holds the fourth-best mark in the conference and will compete in the event on Saturday, while Ben Dodds, Aaron Wilks and George Wayda will compete in the javelin.

Illinois will also send two distance runners the to Payton Jordan Invitational on Sunday, May 4. Liam Markham clocked the third-fastest 1,500m time in the Big Ten two weeks ago and will compete in the event on Sunday, while Ian Barnett is set to run the 5,000m.