Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Illini Travel to Husker Invitational

Brandon Stryganek looks to win the 200m dash for the second straight week.
Brandon Stryganek looks to win the 200m dash for the second straight week.
Husker Invitational ScheduleGet Acrobat Reader

Feb. 6, 2014

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- The Illinois men's track and field team will travel to Lincoln, Neb. for the Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational on Feb. 7-8. Last weekend, the Orange and Blue sent a limited squad to the Indiana Relays, where they recorded 17 top-10 finishes.. The No. 22 Illini will send a full squad to the Husker Invitational this weekend, where they will face nationally-ranked opponents in No. 9 Nebraska and No. 11 Oklahoma State, along with Big Ten opponent Iowa.

Action will start on Friday morning as Geroge Wayda and Corey Hammon compete in the heptathlon. Wayda is coming off of a second-place finish at the Rod McCravy Memorial, where he recorded the fifth-most heptathlon points in school history, while Hammon will compete in the event for the first time this season after finishing sixth at the 2013 Big Ten Indoor Championships. Field events will begin at 5:00 p.m. with school-record holder Davis Fraker in the weight throw.

Friday's running events will begin at 6:21 p.m. with the 60m hurdles prelims. Vanier Joseph is coming off a second-place finish at the Indiana Relays, where he clocked a season-best time of 7.79 in the finals, and will run alongside teammates Cam Viney and David Kendziera. A half hour later, Brandon Stryganek, Julian Smith, Maurice Watkins and Fuad Akinbiyi will compete in the 60m dash prelims. The 400m dash will take place at 8:25 p.m. and feature defending conference champion Stephon Pamilton, D.J. Zahn, Cam Viney and Kenneth Allen. Pamilton made his season debut in the event last weekend and placed third, while Zahn finished closely behind to place fifth. In the final event of the day, Brendan McDonnell, Paul Zeman and Jereme Atchison will run the 5,000m race.

Wayda and Hammon will will finish multi-events on Saturday morning, followed by Davis Fraker and Brandon Noe in the shot put at 12:00 p.m. Brandon Tanthavong will compete in the triple jump shortly after, while Ian Briscoe will compete in the high jump. The four-man pole vault crew of Cody Klein, Matt Bane, Blaze Galardy and Brandon Carrell will compete at 2:30 p.m. At the Indiana Relays last weekend, Bane reached a season-high mark of 4.95m, while Klein tied his season-best of 5.15m.

The first running event of the day will be the unseeded 800m run at 1:07 p.m., featuring Josh Jones, Malik Lee and Zebo Zebe. Joe McAsey will compete in the 600m invitational at 2:31 p.m., while Will Brewster and Luke Carroll will run the invitational section of the mile shortly after. At 3:33 p.m., Brandon Stryganek, Stephon Pamilton and D.J. Zahn will compete in the 200m dash. Stryganek is coming off a first-place finish at the Indiana Relays, where he defeated defending Big Ten champion Timothy Faust of Ohio State, while Pamilton will make his season debut in the event after finishing second at the 2013 Big Ten Indoor Championships. Jannis Toepfer and Jordan Hebert will compete in the 3,000m invitational run at 4:15 p.m., while the 4x400m relay squad of D.J. Zahn, Zebo Zebe, Kenneth Allen and Stephon Pamilton will run the final event of the day at 5:00.