Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Indoor Season Begins Saturday at the Illini Open

Two-time Big Ten champion Stephon Pamilton will run the 600m race to start the season.
Two-time Big Ten champion Stephon Pamilton will run the 600m race to start the season.

Jan. 10, 2014

Meet Schedule & Heat Sheets

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- The Illinois men's track and field team will begin the indoor season on Saturday Jan. 11 at the Illini Open. The meet will also feature the Illini women's track and field team, and will begin at 10 a.m. at the UI Armory. A full meet schedule and heat sheets can be found above.

"We are excited to get the ball rolling," said head coach Mike Turk. "This meet is a chance for us to knock the rust off from the holidays and get into competitive mode. The team is anxious for the opportunity to compete and we love competing at home."

Reigning 400m indoor and outdoor Big Ten champion Stephon Pamilton will start the season by competing in the 600m race on Saturday. The senior will run alongside three other Illini, including fellow 4x400m relay member and All-American D.J. Zahn. Big Ten champion Brandon Stryganek will begin the season in the 60m, while senior Zebo Zebe is the lone Illini to race in the 400m. Big Ten champion Vanier Joseph will lead a group of four Illini in the 60m hurdles, while two-time NCAA Cross Country Championships qualifier Jannis Toepfer will compete in the mile and 3,000m races.

In the field events, upperclassmen Matt Bane and Cody Klein will lead the five-man pole vault crew, while school record holder Davis Fraker will represent the Illini in the weight throw. Fraker will also compete alongside teammate Brandon Noe in the shot put.

Illinois returns to the Armory next weekend for the Illini Classic before traveling to Lexington, Ky. for the Rod McCravy Memorial Meet on Jan. 24-25. The Illini then head to Bloomington, Ind. for the Indiana Relays on Jan. 31-Feb. 1, followed by the Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational in Lincoln, Neb. on Feb. 7-8. The squad will travel to Ames, Iowa for the Iowa Classic on Feb. 14-15, before splitting up on Feb. 22 for the Orange & Blue Open and Alex Wilson Invite. The Big Ten Indoor Championships will be held on Feb. 28-Mar. 1 in Geneva, Ohio, while the NCAA Indoor Championships will be held in Eugene, Ore. on Mar. 14-15.