Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Three Illini Win Event Titles at Musco Twilight

Brandon Stryganek was on of three Illini to win event titles at the Musco Twilight.
Brandon Stryganek was on of three Illini to win event titles at the Musco Twilight.

May 3, 2014

Musco Twilight ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY, Iowa. -- The Illinois men's track and field team placed third at the Musco Twilight on Saturday. In the final meet of the regular season, three Illini won event titles while the team recorded 10 other top-five finishes.

Brandon Stryganek competed in the 200m for the second time this season and won the title with a mark of 21.38, while Joe McAsey won the 800m with a season-best time of 1:50.02. The time is the fastest for the Illini this season and the eighth-fastest in the Big Ten. Zebo Zebe also competed in the event and placed fifth with his second-fastest time of the season, while Josh Jones (1:51.34) placed sixth. Illinois' third event title came from Graham Morris, who won the 1,500m with a time of 3:49.55.

DJ Zahn notched a second-place finish in the 100m with a time of 10.66, while Stephon Pamilton (46.78) finished runner-up in the 400m. Cam Viney placed second in the 110m hurdles with a personal-best time of 14.09, the eighth-fastest time in the Big Ten, while David Kendziera placed fourth with a personal-best time of 14.17. Kendziera also competed in the 400m hurdles and placed fourth with a personal-best time of 51.27, the 10th-fastest time in school history.

In the field events, Davis Fraker placed third in the hammer throw with a season-best mark of 61.31m, which is five meters farther than his previous season-best mark. Aaron Wilks placed third in the javelin with a mark of 56.01m, while Branden Tanthavong finished fourth in the triple jump with a mark of 14.56m. Cody Klein (5.08m) led the pole vault crew with a fifth-place finish, while Blaze Galardy (5.08m) and Mitch Mammoser (4.98m) placed sixth and seventh, respectively.

The Orange and Blue have next weekend off before traveling to West Lafayette, Indiana for the Big Ten Championships on May 16-18.

Illinois Top-Five Finishes

5. DJ Zahn, 10.66

110m Hurdles
2. Cam Viney, 14.09
4. David Kendziera, 14.17

1. Brandon Stryganek, 21.38

2. Stephon Pamilton, 46.78

400m Hurdles
4. David Kendziera, 51.27

1. Joe McAsey, 1:50.0
5. Zebo Zebe, 1:51.25

1. Graham Morris, 3:49.55

Pole Vault
5. Cody Klein, 5.08m

Triple Jump
4. Branden Tanthavong, 14.56m

Hammer Throw
3. Davis Fraker, 61.31m

3. Aaron Wilks, 56.01m

Team Scores
1. Nebraska 190
2. Iowa 130
3. Illinois 113.50
4. Minnesota 104
5. Northern Iowa 84.50