Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Illini Win Lee Calhoun Invitational

Senior Nate Troester and the Fighting Illini won the Lee Calhoun Memorial Invite, scoring 178 points.
Senior Nate Troester and the Fighting Illini won the Lee Calhoun Memorial Invite, scoring 178 points.

April 13, 2013

Lee Calhoun Memorial ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

MACOMB, Ill. -- The Illinois men's track and field team racked up 178 points and won the Lee Calhoun Memorial Invitational on Saturday. The Illini won five individual event titles on the day. Freshman Will Brewster set a meet record in the 3,000m while junior Cody Klein and freshman Mitch Mammosertied the meet record in the pole vault.

Brewster won his first 3,000m race as an Illini on Saturday and led a pack of four Illini among the top five finishers in the event. In addition to Brewster, freshman Paul Zeman finished second with senior Nate Troester third and junior Mark Donohuefifth.

"The 3,000m run iced the meet for us," head coach Mike Turksaid. "We were down a couple points going into the last two events. Senior Nate did a great job providing the leadership to our young crew. He's such a valued team member. Will and Paul took Nate's leadership and stepped up with outstanding performances. I love seeing these young guys that get an opportunity and make the most of it. I believe success breeds success. In a meet like this, a bunch of our young guys get some experience which is great and a winning experience is better."

Freshman Cameron Viney had a successful meet, winning the 400m hurdles in a time of 53.05 and finishing second in the 110m hurdles in a time of 14.37. Sopohomore Brandon Stryganekwas another Illini to win an event title on Saturday as he won the 100m. Stryganek crossed the line with a time of 10.71.

"Cam continues to impress us," Turk said. "We see him maturing and improving. He is a very competitive guy. He has a nose for the finish line and it's fun watching him compete. He is improving quickly."

Junior Stephon Pamilton was the fastest Illini in the 200m, finishing third with a time of 21.73 while sophomore Josh Jonesalso placed in the top-five of the 800m with a time of 1:53.26.

Three Illini won field events including Klein and Mammoser who finished one-two in the pole vault and tied a meet record of 5.05m. Freshman Blaze Galardyplaced fourth with a season best mark of 4.75m.

"We have a good deep vault crew," Turk said. "Matt bane and Josh Hodur were a little off today but once again, a couple of young guys make the most the most of their competitive opportunity to set new personal bests and make a contribution to the win. Blaze and Mitch competed very well. Blaze hasn't had too many opportunities but every time he gets a chance, he progresses. Mitch has had a really good freshman season and I can see he's not done yet. I think he is putting himself in position to score in the outdoor conference meet."

In the throws, redshirt-freshman Nathan Loe won the hammer throw with a mark of 60.83m which ranks third best in school history while sophomore Brandon Noeplaced runner-up with a mark of 54.70m which is eighth farthest in school history.

"Our throwers made a nice contribution," Turk said. "Nathan got a win in the hammer, which was big with Davis being held out because of injury. Brandon had a big personal best in the discus that puts him into the all-time top ten at Illinois. That was huge for Brandon's confidence. I think he can use this as a spring board for the remainder of the season. Maybe not as noticeable was the meet Brett Ramirezhad this weekend. We put Brett in the discus just for fun and he hit a good throw and score some points. In the hammer, he had a season's best mark."

Next weekend, the team will compete at the Lee Calhoun Invitational, hosted by Western Illinois on Saturday, April 13.

Illinois Results from Lee Calhoun Memorial Invite

1. Brandon Stryganek 10.71
3. Julian Smith 10.99
12. Jade Ackerman11.10

3. Stephon Pamilton 21.73
6. Jade Ackerman 22.09
7. Julian Smith 22.11
13. Maurice Watkins 22.44
15. Juan Paul Green22.45

12. Zebo Zebe 50.16
13. Maurice Watkins50.23

3. Josh Jones1:53.26

1. Will Brewster 8:30.30*
2. Paul Zeman 8:33.39
3. Nathan Troester 8:39.30
5. Mark Donohue8:48.08

110m H
2. Cameron Viney 14.37
3. Gary Ford14.70

400m H
1. Cameron Viney 53.05
4. Gary Ford 55.35
12. Peter Bremhorst58.65

4x400m Relay
3. Maurice Watkins, Zebo Zebe, Josh Jones, Ryan Lynn3:14.58

High Jump
13. James Davenport 1.85m
14. Ryan Michel1.85m

Pole Vault
1. Cody Klein 5.05m &
2. Mitch Mammoser 5.05m &
4. Blaze Galardy4.75m

Long Jump
9. Julian Smith6.30m

Shot Put
2. Davis Fraker 16.35m
3. Brett Einbecker 16.03m
5. Brandon Noe15.21m

2. Brandon Noe 54.70m
6. Brett Einbecker 47.52m
9. Brett Ramirez47.05m

Hammer Throw
1. Nathan Loe 60.83m
3. Brett Ramirez 57.65m

3. James Sullivan50.28m

*meet record
& tied meet record