Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Three Illini Win Titles on Final Day of IU Relays

Junior Matt Bane won the pole vault title at the Indiana Relays and set the fifth highest mark in school history.
Junior Matt Bane won the pole vault title at the Indiana Relays and set the fifth highest mark in school history.

Jan. 26, 2013

Complete Indiana Relays ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

Bloomington, Ind. -- The Illini men's track and field team captured three first place titles on the final day of the Indiana Relays on Saturday. Senior Ryan Lynn, junior Matthew Bane and freshman Luke Carroll all took home crowns in their individual events, while junior Vanier Joseph finished second in the 60m hurdles with the third fastest time in Illinois history.

"I'm pleased with the progress we showed this weekend," head coach Mike Turk said. "Our focus each meet is to compete and make the most of our opportunities. We were very competitive and the effort led to several first place finishes, seasonal and personal bests. We even came home with a new school record and a couple of other excellent performances. It was a good team effort across the board. There's more for us to accomplish, we just need to focus on improving in practice and competing to the best of our ability."

In his first true season opener, Joseph advanced to the finals of the 60m hurdles, placing second with a time of 7.83. Joseph's hurdle time is the third fastest in school history. Freshman Cameron Viney also qualified for the finals of the event, finishing with a time of 7.90 to place third.

"Vanier was real solid in the hurdles," Turk said. "He and Cam both ran three quality races. It's been a long road for Vanier to get out there and I'm confident he can build upon what he did this weekend. Cam is a great competitor and showing some consistency."

Sophomore Brandon Stryganek continued his early indoor season success today in the 60m dash. The returning All-American advanced to the finals in the event and finished third with a time of 6.85 in his first 60m dash of the season. Teammate Julian Smith finished closely behind Stryganek, placing fourth with a time of 6.90.

The Illini were also victorious in the middle distance races at the Gladstein Fieldhouse. Senior Ryan Lynn won his first 800m title of the year, taking the invitational crown with a time of 1:51.70 while in his first race as an Illini, freshman Luke Carroll won his 800m race with a time of 1:52.69.

"Ryan look like a seasoned veteran and got a solid win in the 800 but I was really impressed with Luke," Turk said. "He was third out of the slow heats. It was a solid debut. He ran aggressive and strong. We'll be looking for bigger things from him in the coming weeks."

The Orange and Blue also earned a first place finish in the pole vault as junior Matthew Bane won his second title of the year. Bane crushed his previous personal best mark as he won the event with a jump of 17-8 1/2 (5.40m), which ranks fifth highest in indoor school history. Junior Cody Klein matched his personal best with a mark of 17-4 1/2 (5.30m) to finish fourth in the event.

"Once again, the pole vaulters led us in the field events," Turk said. "Matt Bane had a new personal best, Cody Klein tied his personal best and Josh Hodur was right in there as well. Those guys are working hard but they have matured as competitors and are really putting it together."

The Orange and Blue also placed first in the 4x400m relay, as the group of Malcolm Taylor, Juan-Paul Green, Pamilton and Zahn clocked a time of 3:11.97. The squad of Carroll, Lynn, Josh Jones and Zebe also ran the 4x800m relay and finished third with a time of 7:38.01.

"Our 4x400m ran pretty well," Turk said. "We still need to look at the order of our runners in the relay during the next few weeks but we ran a good time in beating a solid Notre Dame relay team. Green, Pamilton and Zahn are coming along well and Taylor did a fine job with the opportunity he had to run. He had a nice weekend and its great to see a senior emerging."

The Illini will be back in action next weekend as the squads are split between the Meyo Invitational in South Bend, Ind., and the Armory Collegiate Invitational in New York. Both meets take place Friday, Feb. 1 and Saturday, Feb. 2.