The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    Lockhart Named To All-American Team

    Dec. 21, 2000

    CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - University of Illinois wrestler John Lockhart has been named to the All-American Farm Team sponsored by Dodge Trucks and Successful Farming magazine. Lockhart earned second-team honors on the wrestling team while fellow Fighting Illini Allison Curtin was named captain and first team member of the women's basketball squad.

    Lockhart, a junior from Mahomet, Ill., was named a second-team academic All-American by the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) last season. He has a cumulative grade point average of 3.28 and is majoring in kinesiology. He earned All-America honors with a seventh-place finish at the NCAA tournament during the 1999-2000 season and is currently 12-2 and ranked fourth in the nation.

    The All-American Farm Team is a scholastic program sponsored by Dodge Truck and Successful Farming magazine, honoring outstanding collegiate athletes who call a farm or ranch home. This, the first part of the program, honors outstanding men and women athletes from the sports of football, volleyball, basebal, softball and track & field.

    Selections to these teams are made by a panel of judges comprised of journalists, college coaches and sports information directors. All athletes named to the program's first team receive a $500 scholarship donated in their name to the college they attend. In addition, team captains receive a $750 scholarship. All athletes and their parents receive a plaque honoring their selection to the team.

    This marks the sixth year for the All-American Farm Team program. During that time the program has awarded $175,000 in scholarships to deserving athletes.

    Successful Farming magazine is an agricultural journal with 1.5 million readers nationwide.


    First Team
    Brad Vering, University of Nebraska (team captain)
    Tim Cobbs, Jr., Missouri Valley College
    Paul Konechne, South Dakota State University
    Eric Schmiesing, Hofstra University
    Jody Strittmatter, University of Iowa

    Second Team
    Casey Doyle, Wartburg College
    John Lockhart, University of Illinois
    Clint Long, Mount St. Clare College
    Todd Proper, Gannon University
    Luke Shaw, Central Missouri State University


    First Team
    Zachary Yoder, Messiah College (team captain)
    Jeremiah McWilliams, St. Louis College
    Adam Cook, College of the Ozarks
    Chad Nuest, Northwestern College
    Steve Sedler, Jamestown College

    Second Team
    Brian Cook, Montana State University
    Nick Dohman, Eureka College
    Ashley Jalufka, St. Mary's University
    Bob Kent, University of Indianapolis
    Joel Welstad, University of Mary
    Brandon Wiese, Doane College


    First Team
    Allison Curtin, University of Illinois (team captain)
    Janell Gerk, University of South Carolina
    Alison Grubbs, Lake Forest College
    Shauna Porter, Fort Hays State University
    Mary Stuehm, Hastings College

    Second Team
    Wendy Lautner, William Penn University
    Heather Meranda, Wilmington College
    Amanda Nelson, Buena Vista University
    Katie Hyseth, Washington State University
    Andrea Schreier, Southwest State University

    Honorable Mention
    Renda Churman, University of Texas
    Jami Cornwell, University of South Carolina
    Sarah Green, Centre College
    Memory Johnson, Northern State University
    Paula Keller, Millersville University of PA
    Milly Schoenberg, Trevecca Nazarene University
    Abbi Schutte, University of Northern Iowa
    Christie Shuffield, University of the Ozarks

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us