Wrestling Participates In Las Vegas Invitational Dec. 3-4


Nov. 30, 1999

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- VIVA LAS VEGAS! The University of Illinois wrestling team will be making its fourth consecutive trip to the Las Vegas Invitational this weekend. Wrestling begins Friday, December 3, at 9 a.m. and will conclude Saturday with the finals and consolation matches set to begin at 7 p.m.

This year's event will host 46 teams including five from the Big Ten (Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State and Wisconsin) and 12 from the Amateur Wrestling News' top 25 tournament team rankings (Minnesota, 3rd, Illinois, 5th, Oklahoma State, 6th, Michigan, 7th, Boise State, 9th, Arizona State, 16th, West Virginia, 19th, Wisconsin, 20th, Cal State Bakersfield, 21st, Harvard, 23rd, Pittsburgh, 24th and Ohio State, 25th).

The Illini are the defending champions of the Las Vegas Invitational after a second-place finish in 1996-97 and a third-place finish in 1997-98.

UI returns eight placewinners from last year's Invitational and three wrestlers who are two-time placewinners. Here is a list of last year's Las Vegas Invitational placewinners: Dave Stoltz, 133, Second, Carl Perry, 141, Fourth, Adam Tirapelle, 149, Third, Griff Powell, 157, Sixth, Bill Zeman, 165, Eighth, Ben King, 174, Third, Nate Patrick, 184, Third, Pat Quirk, 197, Second, Karl Roesler, Hwt, Third (graduated).

Perry placed third at 126 in 1997-98, Tirapelle placed second at 142 and Zeman placed seventh at 158.