Perry Heads Wrestling's Postseason Honorees


May 10, 2000

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- University of Illinois wrestler and 2000 141-pound national champion Carl Perry was named the Illini's Most Outstanding Wrestler of the 1999-2000 season Wednesday afternoon at the team's annual postseason golf outing at the University of Illinois Orange and Blue Golf Course in Savoy.

Perry earned the national championship at 141 pounds as the eighth-seeded wrestler in the national tournament. He posted wins over the three higher seeded wrestlers en route to the title including top-ranked Doug Schwab of Iowa. Perry finishes his Illini career ranked sixth on the Illini's all-time win list with 98 victories.

National runner-up Adam Tirapelle was named the Illini's Most Valuble Wrestler. He compiled an overall record of 39-3 with 15 pins. He was named Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Las Vegas Invitational and the St. Louis Open and his 39 victories rank second on UI's single-season win total behind Steve Marianetti's 44 in 1992-93. Tirapelle's 15 falls was also a team high and is the top single-season effort in Illini history. He now has 23 career pins and needs eight more to tie the career pins mark held by Keith Healy with 31.

Other award winners included Ben King, Griff Powell and Nate Patrick each being recognized as Most Improved while transfer Ryan Escobar was named the Newcomer of the Year.

Illinois Wrestling Team Awards
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Carl Perry
Most Valuable Wrestler: Adam Tirapelle
Most Improved: Ben King, Griff Powell and Nate Patrick
Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Escobar
Most Falls: Adam Tirapelle