Futrell and Blanton Move to Semifinals at Midlands

2010 All-American Jordan Blanton qualified for the semifinals at the Midlands Championships by going 3-0 on the first day of competition.
2010 All-American Jordan Blanton qualified for the semifinals at the Midlands Championships by going 3-0 on the first day of competition.

Dec. 29, 2011

Day 1 Team Standings and BracketsGet Acrobat Reader

Evanston, Ill. - B.J. Futrell and Jordan Blantonadvanced to the semifinals of the Midlands Championships and five remain alive in the consolation bracket as Illinois stands in fifth place after day one at Welsh-Ryan Arena. Futrell is the No. 4 seed and Blanton is the three seed.

After receiving a bye in the first round, Futrell started right where he left off from last year, recording a pin in 46 seconds over Bucknell's Shawn Armato. He continued his success by taking down Northwestern's Jameson Oster in a 15-5 major decision. The junior moved into the semifinals by defeating Northern Iowa's Joe Colon by a 10-1 major decision, his fourth major decision of the season. Futrell will get a rematch with top-seeded Tony Ramos of Iowa, who he lost to at the teams' dual earlier this season, in Friday's semifinals.

Blanton performed very well in the first day of competition, winning his matches by a pin, a tech fall and a decision. The junior pinned Ian Korb of Penn in 2:42 to move into the quarterfinals. The win marks Blanton's seventh fall of the season. Blanton secured his spot into the semifinals with a 5-4 decision over sixth-seed Jimmy Sheptock of Maryland and will face Iowa's Ethen Lofthouse tomorrow.

Jesse Delgadowent 2-1 on the first day of the competition with his first victory coming over Cruse Aarhus of Northern Iowa, 11-6. The freshman then defeated South Dakota State's Aaron Pickrel by a 7-2 decision but was defeated by Jarrod Garnett of Virginia Tech by a pin of 6:35. This marks Delgado's second loss of the season.

Eric Terrazasalso continued a strong run through the 149-pound bracket with a 17-0 technical fall over South Dakota State's Colby Kloetzer (unattached). The senior then moved past Lehigh's Kyle Rosser for the second time this season, with a 10-0 major decision. However, Terrazas came up short against sixth-seeded David Habat of Edinboro, losing the match in a 3-2 decision.

The eighth-seeded Mario Gonzalezdefeated North Dakota State's John Gusewelle in a 15-8 major decision then took down ninth-seeded Alex Thomas of Clarion in a 14-9 decision. The win marked the second time Gonzalez moved past Thomas, with the first meeting coming a few weeks ago. The junior was then defeated by top-seeded Chris Honeycutt of Edinboro in a 5-2 decision.

Sophomore Jackson Morse (157) and redshirt-junior Dan Stelter (174) went 2-2 on the day, while redshirt-freshman Caleb Ervin (149) and Tony Dallago (184) were 2-1. Junior Daryl Thomas (141), Tucker Armstrong (141) and Martin Smith (197) all went 1-2 on the day. Kyle Dooley (157) and Pat Walker(HWT) recorded an 0-2 record.

Illinois is in fifth place as a team after the evening session with two wrestlers remaining in the championship (Futrell and Blanton) and five left in the consolation bracket (Delgado, Terrazas, Ervin, Dallago, Gonzalez). Action continues Friday at Noon with the consolation round of 12, semifinal round, consolation semifinals and seventh-place matches. The tournament concludes Friday at 7:20 p.m. with the first-,third-and fifth-place matches.

125: Jesse Delgado (No. 1 seed), Jr., Gilroy, Calif.
1st round: Dec. Cruse Aarhus (Northern Iowa), 11-6
2nd round: Dec. Aaron Pickrel (South Dakota St.), 7-2
Quarterfinals: Pinned by Jarrod Garnett (unt-Virginia Tech) 6:35

133: B.J. Futrell (No. 4 seed), R-Jr., Park Forest, Ill.
1st round: Pinned Shawn Armato (Bucknell), 0:46
2nd round: Major dec. Jameson Oster (Northwestern). 15-5
Quarterfinals: Major dec. Joe Colon (Northern Iowa), 10-1

141: Daryl Thomas, R-Jr., Edwardsville, Ill.
1st round: Dec. by Brandon Nelson (Purdue), 19-17
Consolation 3rd round: Dec. Dustin Walraven (South Dakota St.), 9-7
Consolation round of 16: Major dec. by No. 7 Mitchell Port (Edinboro), 12-2
Thomas eliminated

141: Tucker Armstrong, R-Fr., Riverside, Calif.
1st round: Dec. by Mike Depalma (Edinboro), 13-6
Consolation 1st round: Dec. Logan Arlis (Illinois), 11-6
Consolation 2nd round: Dec. by Corey Phillips (Eastern Michigan), 11-8
Armstrong eliminated

149: Eric Terrazas (No. 3 seed), Sr., Wheaton, Ill.
1st round: Tech fall Colby Kloetzer (unt-North Dakota St.), 17-0, 2:19
2nd round: Major dec. Kyle Rosser (Lehigh), 10-0
Quarterfinals: Dec. by No. 6 David Habat (Edinboro), 3-2

149: Caleb Ervin, r-Fr., Morganfield, Ky.
1st round: Pinned No. 9 Kaleb Friedley (Northwestern) 4:17
2nd round: Dec. No. 8 Steve Robertson (Penn), 3-2
Quarterfinals: Dec. by No. 1 Mario Mason (Rutgers), 4-1

157: Jackson Morse, So., Alto, Mich.
1st round: Pinned by No. 1 Jason Welch (Northwestern), 4:39
Consolation 1st round: Dec. Sam Bennett (Northern Illinois), 7-2
Consolation 2nd round: Pinned Joby Bodi (North Central), 3:53
Consolation round of 16: Tech fall by No. 11 David Bonin (Northern Iowa) 19-2. 7:00
Morse eliminated

157: Kyle Dooley, R-Jr., Monticello, Ill.
1st round: Dec. by Brennan Cosgrove (unattached) 11-5
Consolation 1st round: Pinned by Nick Moore (Iowa), 2:02
Dooley eliminated

174: Jordan Blanton (No. 3 seed), R-Jr., Richmond, Ill.
1st round: Pinned Ian Korb (Penn), 2:42
2nd round: Tech fall Nolan McBryde (Oklahoma), 27-12, 6:19
Quarterfinals: Dec. No. 6 Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland), 5-4

174: Dan Stelter, R-Jr., Villa Park, Ill.
1st round: Dec. Chris Moon (Virginia Tech), 4-1
2nd round: Dec. by No. 1 Chris Spangler (Iowa State), 5-2
Consolation round of 16: Dec. Deshoun White (SIU-Edwardsville), 10-5
Consolation round of 8: Dec. by No. 8 Phillip Joseph (Eastern Michigan), 3-1
Stelter eliminated

184: Tony Dallago (No. 6 seed), R-So., Harrisburg, Pa.
1st round: Dec. by Erich Smith (Penn), 8-5
Consolation round of 16: Major dec. Steven Cressley (Clarion), 10-1
Consolation round of 8: Dec. Mike Curby (Eastern Michigan), 7-4

197: Mario Gonzalez (No. 8 seed), R-So., Aurora, Ill.
1st round: Major dec. John Gusewelle (North Dakota St.), 15-8
2nd round: Dec. No. 9 Alex Thomas (Clarion), 14-9
Quarterfinals: Dec. by No. 1 Chris Honeycutt (Edinboro), 5-2

197: Martin Smith, R-Sr., Quincy, Ill.
1st round: Major dec. by No. 2. Joe Kennedy (Lehigh), 12-2
Consolation 1st round: Major dec. Michael Sojka (unt-Stanford), 11-3
Consolation 2nd round: Dec. by Ryan Smith (Cal Poly), 10-3
Smith eliminated

HWT: Patrick Walker, R-Jr., Lombard, Ill.
1st round: Dec. by Jarod Trice (Unt-Central Michigan), 2-1 (TB1)
Consolation 1st round: Dec. by Chris Penny (Virginia Tech), 5-2
Walker eliminated