Six Illini Win Titles at Loras Open

Mario Gonzalez tied for the team lead with the most pins at three at the Loras Open.
Mario Gonzalez tied for the team lead with the most pins at three at the Loras Open.

Nov. 6, 2011

Loras Open Gold BracketGet Acrobat Reader | Loras Open Silver BracketGet Acrobat Reader

DUBUQUE, Iowa - Six University of Illinois wrestlers won titles at the Loras Open on Saturday with 10 others placing in the top six in their respective weight classes. The Illini racked up 21 pins and 13 technical falls during the season opening tournament.

Freshman Jesse Delgado took the title at 125 pounds, junior B.J. Futrell placed first at 133, senior Eric Terrazas earned the top spot at 149, junior Conrad Polz won the title at 165, and junior Jordan Blanton and sophomore Mario Gonzaleztook titles at 174 and 197, respectively.

"I thought we wrestled with some excitement and energy and tried to score a lot of points," head coach Jim Heffernansaid. "It was a good starting point for the season and gave us the opportunity to see where we can make improvements, as well as providing us the chance to see the progress we have made through our fall practice. The attitude and approach in the way our guys competed was outstanding."

Delgado notched technical falls in three of his four bouts en route to the title at 125, while Futrell recorded a technical fall, followed by a major decision and a pin at 133. Terrazas posted three technical falls before earning back-to-back decisions to win at 149 and Polz won three of his five matches by a fall, including a pin in 31 seconds, and added a major decision and a technical fall. Blanton recorded two falls, a major decision and a decision in his first event since Dec. 19, 2010. Gonzalez tied for the team lead with the most pins at three, and added a decision.

Juniors Kyle Dooley (157) and Dan Stelter (174), sophomore Tony Dallago (184) and senior Martin Smith (197) placed second in their respective weight classes. Logan Arlis took third at 141 while Guy Kirby (149), Adam Acheson (165) and Pat Walker (HWT) placed fifth. Jake Gingerichearned sixth place at 157.

Along with the 16 placewinners in the gold bracket, seven freshmen earned top five finishes in the silver bracket. Caleb Ervin (125) and Jeff Koepke (174) placed first in the silver bracket while Brandon Lopez (174), Christopher Lopez (HWT) and Dominic Olivieri (125) took second. Matt Ruettiger (157) placed third and Matt Nora(157) took home fifth place.

The Fighting Illini will travel to Harrisburg, Pa., to compete in the Wrestle for a Cure Duals where they will take on North Carolina, Kent State, The Citadel and Utah Valley.

Illinois Placewinners - Gold Bracket
1. Jesse Delgado (125), B.J. Futrell (133), Eric Terrazas (149), Conrad Polz (165), Jordan Blanton (174), Mario Gonzalez (197)
2. Kyle Dooley (157), Dan Stelter (174), Tony Dallago (184), Martin Smith (197)
3. Logan Arlis (141)
5. Daryl Thomas (141), Guy Kirby (149), Adam Acheson (165), Pat Walker (HWT)
6. Jake Gingerich (157)

Illinois Placewinners - Silver Bracket
1. Caleb Ervin (149), Jeff Koepke (174)
2. Dominic Olivieri (125), Brandon Lopez (174), Christopher Lopez (HWT)
3. Matt Ruettiger (157)
5. Matt Nora (157)