The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Tennis

    Czerwinski, Nevolo Selected for NCAA Championships
    Dennis Nevolo qualified for the NCAA Singles Championships for the second-straight year.

    Dennis Nevolo qualified for the NCAA Singles Championships for the second-straight year.

    May 6, 2010

    INDIANAPOLIS - Two Illini were selected by the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Subcommittee to compete in the 2010 NCAA Men's Tennis Championships, as sophomore Dennis Nevolo earned the nod in singles for the second-straight year, and also will compete in doubles with senior Marek Czerwinski.

    The top 16 individuals in the latest Campbell's/ITA national rankings released May 3 received an automatic bid into the field leaving 48 at-large bids for singles, while in doubles, 11 teams automatically qualified and 21 received at-large bids. Nevolo checked in at No. 47 this week in singles and 11th in doubles with Czerwinski.

    Both Illini are vying for their first-career All-America honor by advancing to the Sweet 16 in singles or Elite Eight in doubles. All-America honors also can be earned by finishing the regular season in the top 20 in singles or the top 10 in doubles in the final ITA poll. Kevin Anderson and Ryan Rowe were the last two Illini to earn All-America accolades in 2007.

    Illinois has won three national doubles titles (2000, 2003, 2006) and is the only Big Ten school with an NCAA doubles title. The Illini have advanced to at least the quarterfinals of the doubles championship six times since 2000.

    Nevolo's selection into the 64-player singles field marks the 14th-straight year the Illini will compete on the national stage and the 21st time overall. Amer Delic captured the school's only NCAA singles title in 2003.

    All matches will be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

    The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 26-31 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, following the conclusion of the team championship (May 21-25). The University of Georgia will serve as host.

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us