The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Tennis

    DeHeart Claims Second-Straight Player of the Year Award
    Kevin Anderson

    Kevin Anderson

    April 27, 2006

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - The Big Ten Conference announced the 2006 Men's Tennis All-Big Ten team and Freshman, Athleteand Coach of the Year award winners on Thursday evening at the Big Ten Championship banquet in Minneapolis. 2005 All-Americans Ryler DeHeart and Kevin Anderson were both named to the 2006 All-Big Ten team while DeHeart received his second straight Player of the Year honor. Senior Pramod Dabir represented the Illini as the school's Sportsmanship Honoree.

    DeHeart was a unanimous All-Big Ten selection for the second consecutive year after winning all eight of his league matches, seven of which were at the No. 1 position. He joins Iowa's Tyler Cleveland (2000 and 2001) as just the second student-athlete in league annals to win the award in consecutive seasons. DeHeart is the third Illini to claim the Big Ten's top honor, joining Brian Wilson (2004) and Oliver Freelove (1999). In 2004, the Tampa, Fla., native was named to the All-Big Ten team after a stellar sophomore campaign. DeHeart owns a 36-2 lifetime record against Big Ten foes.

    Anderson finished the Big Ten regular season with a 5-1 mark. His only loss was to Big Ten Rookie of the Year Bryan Konieko of Ohio State. This is the South African's second consecutive All-Big Ten honor. In 2005, he was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

    Konieko became the second Buckeye in three years to garner the award. Ohio State's Joey Atlas won it in 2004. Ohio State head coach Ty Tucker was chosen as the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second time in his career after being previously honored in 2001. Under Tucker's leadership, the Buckeyes compiled a perfect 10-0 Big Ten record to capture the program's first regular season title. He led seventh-ranked Ohio State to its sixth-straight 20-win season and the highest national ranking in program history.

    This year's All-Big Ten team is comprised of four seniors, three juniors, four sophomores and one freshman - six of which were unanimous selections. Half of the squad is also comprised of repeat winners. Illinois' DeHeart earned his third All-Conference nod, while teammate Kevin Anderson claimed his second-straight honor. Michigan's Matko Maravic, Northwestern's Christian Tempke, Ohio State's Devin Mullings and Penn State's Mark Barry were all repeat selections.

    The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    A complete list of the 2006 All-Big Ten team and postseason honorees appears below.

    Athlete of the Year:Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*
    Freshman of the Year: Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State*
    Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State*

    2006 All-Big Ten Team
    Kevin Anderson,Illinois
    Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*
    Dima Ishtuganov,Indiana
    Matko Maravic,Michigan*
    Nick Rinks, Michigan State
    DJ Gaetz, Minnseota*
    Christian Tempke, Northwestern
    Chris Klingemann, Ohio State*
    Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State
    Devin Mullings, Ohio State
    Mark Barry, Penn*
    Jeremy Sonkin, Wisconsin*
    *unanimous selection

    2006 Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Pramod Dabir, Illinois
    Neil Kenner, Indiana
    Bart van Monsjou, Iowa
    Brian Hung, Michigan
    Mike Flowers, Michigan
    Adrien Debreyne, Minnesota
    Adam Schaechterle, Northwestern
    Scott Green, Ohio State
    Mark Barry, Penn State
    Eric Hodgman, Purdue
    Lachezar Kasarov, Wisconsin

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us