The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Tennis

    Hiltzik/Kopinski Earn Big Ten Honors
    Jared Hiltzik became the sixth Illini to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year

    Jared Hiltzik became the sixth Illini to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year

    April 25, 2013

    COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten men's tennis All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced Thursday night at the conference banquet, with Illinois tennis standout Jared Hiltzik earning Freshman of the Year honors. In addition, Hiltzik was also named First Team All-Big Ten while sophomore teammate Tim Kopinski picked up Second Team laurels. 

    Thus, the Illini have secured at least two All-Big Ten honorees for the past 17 years as both Hiltzik and Kopinski obtained their first end of the season awards in their young collegiate careers.

    "I'm tremendously happy for both TK and Jared," said Illinois head coach Brad Dancer. "They both embody hard work and focus and these awards are representative of their commitment. Jared joins a prestigious group being named first team as a freshman. While Kopinski's stats were not overwhelming, I believe the coaches recognize the spirit with which he competes."

    Hiltzik becomes the sixth Illini newcomer to win Freshman of the Year, last earned by Dennis Nevolo in 2009. Hiltzik finished his first conference season with a 9-2 singles record and a 7-0 doubles mark when paired with Alex Jesse. The Wilmette native has earned Big Ten Tennis Athlete of the Week honors three times this spring, last accomplished by Ruben Gonzales in 2008. Key ranked victories this season for Hiltzik include wins over #23 Fred Saba of Duke and #9 Blaz Rola of Ohio State.

    Meanwhile, Tim Kopinski has built a solid resume during his sophomore campaign, highlighted by great doubles success with Ross Guignon. Kopinski earned his first Big Ten Tennis Athlete of the Week honor after he lifted his Illini to an upset over #7 Kentucky. Another signature singles victory for Kopinski includes a 6-3, 6-2 win over #14 Michael Redlicki of then #5 Duke. In 2013, Kopinski is 7-1 in doubles when playing in the No. 1 position with a key win over the #2 duo of Jenkins/Styslinger from Virginia.

    Finally, senior Bruno Abdelnour was Illinois' Sportsmanship honoree for the second consecutive year. The award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship, ethical behavior and strong academic performance, and who have demonstrated good citizenship outside the sports-competition setting. 


    First-Team All-Big Ten*

    Jared Hiltzik, Illinois

    Josh MacTaggart, Indiana

    Sam Monette, Indiana

    EVAN KING, Michigan

    Aaron Pfister, Michigan State

    ROK BONIN, Minnesota

    Leandro Toledo, Minnesota

    Raleigh Smith, Northwestern

    Spencer Wolf, Northwestern

    PETER KOBELT, Ohio State

    Devin McCarthy, Ohio State

    BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State

    Connor Smith, Ohio State

    Second-Team All-Big Ten

    Tim Kopinski, Illinois

    Barrett Franks, Michigan

    Drew Lied, Michigan State

    Chris Diaz, Ohio State

    Szymon Tatarczyk, Purdue


    Unanimous selections in CAPS

    * Additional honorees due to a tie



    Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan

    Freshman of the Year: Jared Hiltzik, Illinois

    Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State



    Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois

    Chris Essick, Indiana

    Jonas Dierckx, Iowa

    Alex Petrone, Michigan

    Denis Bogatov, Michigan State

    Jack Hamburg, Minnesota

    Marc Herrmann, Nebraska

    Chris Jackman, Northwestern

    Blaz Rola, Ohio State

    CJ Griffin, Penn State

    Krisztian Krocsko, Purdue

    Petr Satral, Wisconsin

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us