Men's Gymnastics
Gymnasts Honored At Post-Season Banquet

All-American Travis Romagnoli is the Illini men's team Most Valuable Gymnast.
All-American Travis Romagnoli is the Illini men's team Most Valuable Gymnast.

April 22, 2000

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- University of Illinois gymnasts Travis Romagnoli and Gena Gruss were named Most Valuable Gymnasts for the Fighting Illini men's and women's teams Saturday night at a banquet honoring both squads.

Romagnoli, the 1998 national champion in the all-around, earned All-America honors on the high bar and in the all-around this season. This season's award marks the third time Romagnoli has been recognized as the Illinois men's Most Valuable Gymnast. Gruss, who was a four-year starter on vault and bars, claimed the honor for the women's squad.

Other gymnasts honored were: Eric Wills for the Fighting Illini Spirit Award, Sean-Paul Crawford was named the Most Improved Gymnast and NCAA all-around All-American Leo Oka was named the Most Outstanding Gymnast for the second consecutive year. The women's squad honored four additional gymnasts. Phaedra Dixon was named the Most Consistent Beam Performer after completing the 1999-2000 season without counting a fall and was also recognized the team's Most Outstanding Gymnast, sophomore Allison Berg earned the Most Improved Gymnast award and senior Carmella Fernandez, who recorded back-to-back 4.0 GPA semesters, earned the team's Scholar-Athlete award.

Illinois Gymnastics Team Awards

Most Valuable Gymnast: Travis Romagnoli
Most Outstanding Gymnast: Leo Oka
Most Improved: Sean-Paul Crawford
Fighting Illini Spirit Award: Eric Wills

Most Valuable Gymnast: Gena Gruss
Most Outstanding Gymnast: Phaedra Dixon
Most Improved: Allison Berg
Most Consistent Beam Award: Phaedra Dixon
Scholar-Athlete: Carmella Fernandez