Men's Golf
Nuger ties for 12th in Northern Intercollegiate


Oct. 1, 2000

URBANA, Ill. -- Senior Larry Nuger turned in a strong performance in the first tournament of his career played in front of the home crowd. Nuger carded a 1-under par 71 in the second round and a 76 in the third round to finish the Northern Intercollegiate with a 7-over 223. He tied for 12th place with three other golfers. Penn State's Matt Abbott successfully defended his 1999 Northern title by turning in the only score that was below par. Abbott shot a 1-under 215 in three rounds at the 72-par, 7,118-yard Stone Creek Golf Club. Three golfers had totals of 219 to tie for second.

The Illini were in fourth place heading into the third round, but the strong winds hurt Illinois in the finale. After turning in scores of 298 and 296 in the opening rounds, the Illini shot a team total of 312 in the final round to finish with a 906. The Illini tied for seventh place with Marshall and Xavier. Purdue won the 18-team tournament with an 889.

Geoff Lound was the second place finisher for the Illini. After posting a 1-under 71 in the opening round, the sophomore carded an 80 and a 76 for a tournament total of 227. Lound tied for 27th. Senior Tim Riley had a tough afternoon shooting an 81 in the final round. He tied for 35th with a 229. Sophomore Evan Olson tied for 46th with a tournament total of 231. Newcomer Ryan Tendall shot 77s in the first two rounds followed by an 80 in the finale to tie for 65th. He shot a total of 234 strokes in his first collegiate tournament.

The 2000 Northern Intercollegiate was the first tournament the Illini have hosted at home since the 1988 Big Ten Championships. Illinois will host the 2001 Big Ten Championships at Stone Creek Golf Club in Urbana May 4-6.

The Illini will take next weekend off before returning to action at the Missouri Bluffs Intercollegiate October 9-10.

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Team Scores
1.  Purdue	291-298-300=889
2.  Iowa	298-291-304=893
3.  Michigan	305-294-298=897
    Indiana	293-302-302=897
5.  Miami	291-306-303=900
6.  Wisconsin	292-301-310=903
7.  Illinois	298-296-312=906
    Marshall	297-301-308=906
    Xavier	304-297-305=906
10. Penn State	302-299-306=907
11. Notre Dame	311-301-296=908
12. Ohio State	301-300-313=914
13. Kentucky	306-305-304=915
    Mich. St.	301-306-308=915
15. Louisville	304-296-316=916
16. W. Kentucky	308-309-305=922
17. Ball State	312-309-303=924
18. Akron	308-307-314=929

Illinois Individuals T12 Larry Nuger 76-71-76=223 T27 Geoff Lound 71-80-76=227 T35 Tim Riley 75-73-81=229 T46 Evan Olson 76-75-80=231 T65 Ryan Tendall 77-77-80=234