Men's Golf
Men's Golf Squad Named Illinois Team of the Year

June 18, 2014

Champaign, Ill. - The University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics (DIA) announced Wednesday that men's golf is the 2013-14 Team of the Year, while Mike Small has been selected Coach of the Year. This is the inaugural year for these two awards, which were chosen by a vote of Fighting Illini head coaches and athletics administrators.

Small has built the Illini men's golf squad into one of the top programs in the nation during his tenure. Illinois had a staggering number of achievements again this past season, highlighted by qualification for the NCAA Championships for the seventh-consecutive year; the only northern school to accomplish this feat. The Illini advanced to match play for the third time in four years under the current NCAA format, finishing tied for fifth place.

Illinois advanced to nationals after winning the NCAA Sugar Grove Regional, its second-straight regional crown. Junior Brian Campbell was regional medalist, winning the individual title by four strokes. Campbell, an All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year, also placed first at The Macdonald Cup and turned heads during the final round of NCAA stroke play when he fired a 7-under-par 63, tying the school record and course record at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas.

Campbell was one of three Illini to be named unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections, joined by sophomores Charlie Danielson and Thomas Detry. It marked just the second time in school history that the Orange and Blue had three players earn first-team all-conference honors. Danielson was co-medalist at the Big Ten Championships, while Detry had one win among his four top-five finishes and was named to Europe's Palmer Cup squad.

Senior Jonathan Hauter was an All-Midwest Region selection after posting three top-10 finishes on the season. Sophomore David Kim had a pair of top-10s and junior Alex Burge competed in six tournaments, including both NCAA postseason events.

Illinois won a total of four tournaments on the year, preceding the Sugar Grove Regional victory with titles at the Wolf Run Intercollegiate, The Macdonald Cup and Louisiana Classics.

The selection of men's golf as Team of the Year and Mike Small as Coach of the Year followed Tuesday's recognition of Chandler Eggleston (gymnastics) and Kandie Bloch-Jones (track and field) as Newcomers of the Year. The announcement of Illinois' athletics award winners concludes Thursday with the unveiling of the 2013-14 Dike Eddleman Male and Female Athlete of the Year.