Men's Golf
Campbell Named Big Ten Player of the Year

Illini junior Brian Campbell was named Big Ten Player of the Year on Wednesday.
Illini junior Brian Campbell was named Big Ten Player of the Year on Wednesday.

May 7, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - University of Illinois junior Brian Campbell was named Big Ten Player of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday. Campbell was joined by sophomores Charlie Danielson and Thomas Detry as unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten first team according to voting by the Big Ten men's golf coaches, giving Illinois three spots on the six-man team. Fifth-year senior Jonathan Hauter also was named the team's sportsmanship honoree.

Campbell's honor marks the third-straight year and fourth time in the last five seasons that an Illini has been named Big Ten Player of the Year, as he joins Thomas Pieters (2013), Luke Guthrie (2012) and Scott Langley (2010) in taking the league's top honor. It also is the seventh time an Illini has earned the award.

The selection of Campbell, Danielson and Detry to the All-Big Ten first team marks just the second time that three Illinois golfers have been named first-team All-Big Ten in the same year, joining Chris DeForest, Luke Guthrie and Scott Langley in 2010. It is the second career All-Big Ten honor for Campbell and Detry, who were both named to the second team in 2013. It is Danielson's first All-Big Ten honor.

Campbell earned his first career victory in 2013-14 and posted five top-10 finishes on the year. His win came at The Macdonald Cup in October, when he recorded the second-best 54-hole score in Big Ten history with a 13-under-par 197. He also notched two more top-15 finishes, including tying for 12th at the Big Ten Championships. He currently has a 71.35 stroke average, is ranked No. 45 nationally in the Golfweek/Sagarin men's collegiate rankings and No. 54 in the Golfstat Cup. His 18-hole season best (64) and 54-hole best (197) both stand as Illinois' top scores this season.

Danielson notched his first career win by sharing medalist honors at the 2014 Big Ten Championships, and has four top-five finishes this season. He leads Illinois with 16 rounds under par and six rounds at par on the season, and his season stroke average of 71.07 earned him the Les Bolstad Award as the top average in the Big Ten. He also is currently the top Big Ten player in the Golfstat Cup, standing at No. 36 nationally, and is ranked No. 61 in the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings.

Detry also is having a banner sophomore campaign, having won his first collegiate tournament at the Wolf Run Intercollegiate in September and holding five top-10 finishes on the year. He has finished in the top 25 in eight of 10 tournaments in 2013-14 and is third on the team with a 71.39 stroke average, one shot behind Campbell. He is second on the team with 14 rounds under par and five even-par rounds, is ranked No. 55 by Golfweek/Sagarin and is No. 58 in the Golfstat Cup.

The Fighting Illini were one of six Big Ten teams named to an NCAA Regional Monday, and will be the No. 2 seed at the Sugar Grove, Illinois, regional at Rich Harvest Farms May 15-17. Illinois will seek its seventh-straight berth to NCAA Championships, needing to finish in the top five of its regional to advance.

Big Ten Player of the Year: Brian Campbell, Illinois
Big Ten Freshman of the Year:
Jose Mendez, Minnesota
Big Ten Coach of the Year: John Carlson, Minnesota

First Team
Brian Campbell, Illinois*
Charlie Danielson, Illinois*
Thomas Detry, Illinois*
Steven Ihm, Iowa*
Jose Mendez, Minnesota
Jack Perry, Northwestern*

Second Team
Brian Bullington, Iowa
Ian Vandersee, Iowa
Chris O'Neill, Michigan
Boo Timko, Ohio State
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Austin Eoff, Purdue

* Indicates unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jonathan Hauter, Illinois
Hugo Menendez, Indiana
Brian Bullington, Iowa
Bryce Evon, Michigan
Carson Castellani, Michigan State
Jon DuToit, Minnesota
Josh Reinertson, Nebraska
Bennett Lavin, Northwestern
Boo Timko, Ohio State
Geoff Vartelas, Penn State
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Ben Skogen, Wisconsin