Men's Golf
Illini Sweep Big Ten Individual Honors

Thomas Pieters was named Big Ten Men's Golfer of the Year on Wednesday.
Thomas Pieters was named Big Ten Men's Golfer of the Year on Wednesday.

May 1, 2013

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Reigning five-time Big Ten champion Illinois made a clean sweep of the conference's individual postseason honors, the league office announced Wednesday. Thomas Pieters was named Big Ten Men's Golfer of the Year, Thomas Detry was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, which are based on a combination of the GolfStat and Sagarin statistical rankings, and head coach Mike Small earned his fifth-straight Big Ten Coach of the Year honor. Pieters also was named a first-team All-Big Ten selection, while Detry and Brian Campbell were second-team All-Big Ten honorees. In addition, Pieters was named Illinois' sportsmanship award honoree.

Pieters' honor marks the second-straight year and third time in the last four seasons that an Illini has won Big Ten Player of the Year honors (Luke Guthrie, 2012; Scott Langley, 2010). It also is the sixth time overall that an Illinois golfer has won the honor. Detry's award makes him the fourth Illini to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year (Langley, 2008; Patrick Nagle, 2003; James Lepp, 2002). And the Coach of the Year honor is the sixth of Small's career, as he also won it in 2002 in addition to the current five-year streak.

Pieters won individual medalist honors at the 2013 Big Ten Championships on Sunday with a final score of four-under-par, the only individual to finish under par for the tournament. It was his first victory since winning the 2012 NCAA championship, and was his seventh top-10 finish out of nine tournaments this season. Pieters has 14 rounds under par out of 28 total rounds, as well as three rounds at par. His season stroke average of 71.46 leads the Big Ten and is 26th nationally. It also currently ranks fifth in school history.

Detry and Campbell are tied for second on the team with a stroke average of 73.32, after Campbell tied for second and Detry tied for eighth place at the 2013 Big Ten Championships. Campbell fired a one-over-par 289, while Detry carded a seven-over-par 295. Campbell notched a pair of two-under-par rounds and a round at par at the Pete Dye Course, while Detry carded one round under par at the championships. Campbell's second-place finish at Big Ten Championships was his third top-10 finish of the season and he has recorded two other finishes inside the top-20. He has eight rounds under par and five even-par rounds. Detry's eighth-place finish was his first top-10 of the season, but he now has seven top-20 finishes. He has recorded three rounds under par and five even-par rounds.

The NCAA Division I regional selections will be announced Monday, May 6, and regionals will take place May 16-18. The six regional sites are Baton Rouge, La.; Tallahassee, Fla.; Columbus, Ohio; Fayetteville, Ark.; Tempe, Ariz.; and Pullman, Wash.