Men's Golf
Detry Named to Team Europe for 2014 Palmer Cup

Thomas Detry was named to Team Europe for the 2014 Palmer Cup on Thursday.
Thomas Detry was named to Team Europe for the 2014 Palmer Cup on Thursday.

April 17, 2014

Palmer Cup Website

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Illinois sophomore Thomas Detry (pronounced DEE-tree) was named to the 10-man Team Europe squad for the 2014 Palmer Cup, a Ryder Cup-like tournament that pits collegiate players from the United States against European collegiate players. Detry is the third Illini player to be selected to a Palmer Cup squad in the last five years, as Scott Langley played for Team USA in 2010 and Thomas Pieters played for Team Europe in 2012. Illini junior Brian Campbell was listed among the Team USA Palmer Cup rankings but narrowly missed the final cut.

"The Palmer Cup is a big deal and a big honor to college players," Illinois head coach Mike Small said. "The presence of European players in college golf has increased so much over the last 15 years that they can field a pretty strong team. To have our third player on it (in the last five years) is a big plus for us and we hope to continue to have that in the future. It's an honor for our team and it's something that we take pride in."

Detry was one of six players on the European squad selected by the Palmer Cup Ranking, while two more were committee selections, Louis Tomlinson was named to the team by virtue of winning The R&A Scholars' Tournament and Jack McDonald was a coach's pick. On the American side, six players were selected through the Palmer Cup Ranking, three were picked by a committee and the 10th player was a coach's selection.

The Palmer Cup will be contested June 26-28 at Walton Heath Golf Club in Surrey, England. Walton Heath has hosted such notable tournaments as the 2011 Senior Open Championship, the 1981 Ryder Cup and a number of European Open championships. The United States leads the all-time Palmer Cup series 9-7-1.

2014 Palmer Cup
Team Europe

Jon Rahm, Arizona State - Spain
Ricardo Gouveia, UCF - Portugal
Erik Oja, Arizona - Sweden
Thomas Detry, Illinois - Belgium
Pep Angles, Central Arkansas - Spain
James Ross, Houston - Scotland
Paul Dunne, UAB - Ireland
Grant Forrest, San Diego - Scotland
Louis Tomlinson, UCLAN Myerscough - England
Jack McDonald, Stirling - Scotland

Team USA
Cameron Wilson, Stanford
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Robby Shelton, Alabama
Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State
Brandon Hagy, California
Rico Hoey, Southern California
Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe
Trey Mullinax, Alabama
Stewart Jolly, LSU