Men's Golf
Detry Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Sophomore Thomas Detry was named to the Ben Hogan Award watch list on Wednesday.
Sophomore Thomas Detry was named to the Ben Hogan Award watch list on Wednesday.

Feb. 5, 2014

FORT WORTH, Texas - University of Illinois sophomore Thomas Detry was one of 30 golfers across the country named to the watch list for the 2014 Ben Hogan Award, which is given annually to the top men's college golfer. It marks the fifth-straight year that an Illini was included on the list, the third-longest streak in the nation behind Stanford (nine years) and Alabama (seven).

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is com¬prised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

A list of 10 semifinalists will be unveiled on April 16, with a list of three finalists being named on May 7. The winner will be honored at a banquet at Colonial Country Club on May 18 prior to the start of the PGA Tour's Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

2014 Ben Hogan Award Watch List Anders Albertson (Georgia Tech) Julien Brun (TCU) Sebastian Cappelen (Arkansas) Corey Conners (Kent State) Ian Davis (Oklahoma State Bryson Dechambeau (SMU) Thomas Detry (Illinois) Greg Eason (UCF) Joey Garber (Georgia) Oliver Goss (Ten¬nessee) Gavin Green (New Mexico) Brandon Hagy (California) Toni Hakula (Texas) Chase Koepka (USF) Denny McCar¬thy (Virginia) Trey Mullinax (Alabama) Jordan Niebrugge (Oklahoma State) Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington) Taylor Pen¬drith (Kent State) J.T. Poston (Western Carolina) Patrick Rodgers (Stanford) Ollie Schniederjans (Georgia Tech) Robby Shelton (Alabama) Bradley Shigezawa (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps) Joel Stalter (California) Scott Vincent (Virginia Tech) Michael Weaver (California) Cory Whitsett (Alabama) Cameron Wilson (Stanford) Bobby Wyatt (Alabama)