Men's Golf
Orange and Blue Retain Tinervin Cup, Top Redbirds

Sophomore Thomas Detry was one of three Illini to win both his fourball and singles matches on Saturday.
Sophomore Thomas Detry was one of three Illini to win both his fourball and singles matches on Saturday.

Jan. 25, 2014

PLACIDA, Fla. - The Fighting Illini remained perfect in the 11th-annual Tinervin Cup, defeating Illinois State 6-3 Saturday at the teams' spring kickoff event held at the 7,038-yard, par-71 Coral Creek Golf Club. Illinois swept the morning's fourball portion before going 3-3 in singles in the afternoon.

"It was a productive weekend to get out and compete and gauge where are games are right now," Illinois head coach Mike Small said. "Everybody showed some good things today but we also were able to find some areas of our games that we can work on. I know these guys will focus in on those things to get ready for Big Ten Match Play in two weeks. And we couldn't have this great weekend without the support of Jeff and Madalyn Tinervin. We're very thankful for their dedication to our program."

The event, now in its 11th year, is put on by dual benefactors Jeff and Madalyn Tinervin, and is played in a format comparable to the Ryder Cup, beginning with three two-on-two, head-to-head, better ball matches in the morning session. Each match is worth one point for a total of three possible points. Six individual head-to-head, stroke-play matches followed in the afternoon. Each match in the afternoon is worth one point for a total of six possible points.

Illinois earned all three points in the morning session, with junior Brian Campbell and sophomore Thomas Detry pairing up to defeat the Redbird duo of Parker Freiburg and Jordan Fahel. Sophomores Charlie Danielson and David Kim took care of ISU's Wils Hawn and Kyle Meihofer, while senior Jonathan Hauter and junior Alex Burge beat Tyler Gentilella and Josh Edison. Burge was forced to withdraw from competition following the fourball matches because of an injury, giving Edison the win in singles play. Of the five contested singles matches, Illinois won three as Campbell, Detry and Kim all earned victories.

Full results from Saturday's Tinervin Cup and the all-time results of the event are below. The Illini have the next two weekends off before traveling to Sarasota, Fla., on Feb. 14-15 for the Big Ten Match Play Championship.

Brian Campbell/Thomas Detry (ILL) def. Parker Freiburg/Jordan Fahel (ISU)
Charlie Danielson/David Kim (ILL) def. Wils Hawn/Kyle Meihofer (ISU)
Jonathan Hauter/Alex Burge (ILL) def. Tyler Gentilella/Josh Edison (ISU)

Brian Campbell (ILL) def. Parker Freiburg (ISU)
Thomas Detry (ILL) def. Jordan Fahel (ISU)
Wils Hawn (ISU) def. Charlie Danielson (ILL)
David Kim (ILL) def. Kyle Meihofer (ISU)
Tyler Gentilella (ISU) def. Jonathan Hauter (ILL)
Josh Edison (ISU) def. Alex Burge (ILL) (Burge withdrew following fourball matches)

Tinervin Cup History
2014 - Illinois 6, Illinois State 3
2013 - Illinois 8, Illinois State 1
2012 - Illinois 7, Illinois State 2
2011 - Illinois 8.5, Illinois State 0.5
2010 - Illinois 9, Illinois State 0
2009 - Illinois 8, Illinois State 1
2008 - Illinois 8, Illinois State 1
2007 - Illinois 5.5, Illinois State 3.5
2006 - Illinois 5, Illinois State 4
2005 - Illinois 8, Illinois State 1
2004 - Illinois 9, Illinois State 0