Scheelhaase Named to Manning Award Watch List

Nathan Scheelhaase was added to the Manning Award list.
Nathan Scheelhaase was added to the Manning Award list.

Oct. 19, 2011

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - University of Illinois sophomore quarterback Nathan Scheelhaase was one of 10 players added to the 2011 Manning Award watch list on Wednesday, the Allstate Sugar Bowl - which sponsors the award - announced. Scheelhaase ranks 15th in the nation and second in the Big Ten in passing efficiency, and has led the No. 23 Illini to a 6-1 mark heading into Saturday's game at Purdue.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media, as well as each of the Mannings, and will be released on Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Jan. 18 and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans.

Scheelhaase has completed 100-of-154 passes for 1,407 yards in seven games, with 11 touchdowns and five interceptions. He's averaging 201.0 passing yards per game while rushing for 56.6 yards per game and four touchdowns in 2011.

He ranks seventh nationally in yards per pass attempt (9.1) and has helped the Illini convert 52-of-98 third downs (.531) in 2011. He has accounted for nine of Illinois' 13 touchdowns in the last three games and has three touchdown passes of 65-plus yards, equaling Juice Williams' school record from 2006. He also has thrown 24 touchdowns against only six interceptions over the Illini's last 14 games after throwing four touchdowns and seven interceptions in the first six games of 2010.

It is the third award watch list that Scheelhaase has been named to, as he also is on the Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien Award watch lists.

ILLINI ON 2011 WATCH LISTS (through Oct. 19):
Jeff Allen - Lowe's Senior CLASS Award (Senior Student-Athlete), Rotary Lombardi Award (Lineman), Outland Trophy (Interior Line)
Derek Dimke - Lou Groza Award (PK)
Jason Ford - Doak Walker Award (RB)
A.J. Jenkins - Biletnikoff Award (WR)
Whitney Mercilus - Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of Year)
Nathan Scheelhaase - Maxwell Award (Player of the Year), Davey O'Brien Award (QB), Manning Award (QB)
Akeem Spence - Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player), Outland Trophy Watch List (Interior Line)