Six Big Ten Punters Make Final Watch List For Honor

Steve Fitts is a finalist for the Ray Guy Award.
Steve Fitts is a finalist for the Ray Guy Award.

Oct. 17, 2000

PARK RIDGE, IL - The Greater Augusta Sports Council has announced the final Watch List for the inaugural Ray Guy Award and six Big Ten Conference punters are among the 40 nominees.

Honorees from the Big Ten include Illinois Steve Fitts, Jason Baker of Iowa, Michigans Hayden Epstein, Preston Gruening of Minnesota, Travis Dorsch of Purdue and Kevin Stemke from Wisconsin.

The Ray Guy Award will be voted on by a panel of national media members, college football coaches, former punters and members of the Greater Augusta Sports Council. The Watch List will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists on November 8 and three finalists will be announced on November 30. The winner will be presented during the Greater Augusta Sports Council Awards Gala on December 12 in Augusta, Georgia. Oakland Raiders Owner and CEO Al Davis will serve as the Galas keynote speaker.