Young Named Butkus Award Candidate

Senior Michael Young is a candidate for the 2000 Butkus Award.
Senior Michael Young is a candidate for the 2000 Butkus Award.
University of Illinois football player Michael Young has been named as a candidate for the 2000 Butkus Award, as announced by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

The Butkus Award, which honors the nation's top collegiate linebacker, announced its preliminary list of 70 candidates, Thursday morning. Young is making his first appearance on the list and is one of 10 players selected from the Big Ten Conference.

Young is beginning his fourth year as a starter for the Illini, and ranked sixth on the team in total tackles in 1999. He forced three sacks, four tackles for loss and one fumble while tallying 48 tackles last year. Young is the only returning starter for the linebacking corp this season and serves as one of the main leaders on the young Illinois defense.

The Butkus Award, sponsored by Cooper Tire, is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando Inc., the Butkus Award is named for one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus of Illinois. Past winners include: LaVar Arrington (1999-Penn State), Andy Katzenmoyer (1997-Ohio State), Kevin Hardy (1995-Illinois), and Dana Howard (1994-Illinois).

The Butkus Award Watch List will be trimmed to 10 semi-finalists on Oct. 19 and the three finalists will be announced on a national teleconference on Nov. 9. The winner will be announced Friday, Dec. 8 at the Hard Rock Live in Universal Studios. The Butkus Award selection committee is made up of 28 of the nation's foremost media members.

Keith AdamsClemsonDan MorganMiami
Brian AllenFlorida StateRyan NeceUCLA
Adam ArchultaArizona StateKautai OleavoUtah
Akin AyodelePurdueBrent PassayUtah State
Boss BaileyGeorgiaJeremiah PharmsWashington
Kendrell BellGeorgiaJerry PhillipsTulane
Kevin BentleyNorthwesternKenny PhilpottEastern Michigan
Eric BrackinsMichiganCarlos PolkNebraska
Shannon BrazellTCUTommy PolleyFlorida State
Rocky CalmusOklahomaSaleem RasheedAlabama
Quenton CarverArkansasDarnell RobinsonOregon State
Patrick ChukwurahWyomingJamonte RobinsonMissouri
Rick CrowellColorado StateWayne RogersHouston
Derrell DanielsWashingtonKevin Rollins Toledo
Andra DavisFloridaCameron Saulsby Northern Illinois
Anthony DenmanNotre DameKamal ShakirMemphis
Justin EnaBYUTim SkipperFresno State
Treverance FaulkLSUJustin SmithIndiana
Larry FooteMichiganMatt SmithOregon
Jason GlennTexas A&MBrandon SpoonNorth Carolina
Ryan Gonsales PittsburghMarkus SteeleUSC
Morlon GreenwoodSyracuseEddie StrongMississippi
Pernell GriffinEast CarolinaTaylor SumanTemple
Sean HoffmanMinnesotaJashon Sykes Colorado
Orlando HuffFresno StateLeVar TalleyTemple
Bradie JamesLSUBen TaylorVirginia Tech
Riall JohnsonStanfordRobert ThomasUCLA
Ben LeberKansas StateByron ThweattVirginia
De'Andre Lewis TexasTJ TurnerMichigan State
Jason LoezelPurdueLyle WeaverArmy
Vassay MarcSouth FloridaEric WestmorelandTennessee
Torrence MarshallOklahomaClayton WhiteNC State
Ben MezeraMinnesotaJamie WinbornVanderbilt
Marion Moore MarylandMax YatesMarshall
Zeke MorenoUSCMichael YoungIllinois

Presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. Sponsored by Cooper Tire