All-Decade Team Defensive Linemen Named

Corey Liuget is one of five defensive linemen named to the All-Decade Team.
Corey Liuget is one of five defensive linemen named to the All-Decade Team.

Aug. 17, 2011

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - The University of Illinois announced the second group of players on the All-Decade Team Tuesday, with defensive linemen Will Davis, Corey Liuget, Brandon Moore, Chris Norwell and Derrick Strong being named to the 31-player team. The squad, which honors Illini who played between 2000-10, was compiled by a combination of fan voting and input from Division of Intercollegiate Athletics staff.

Davis ranks seventh on the UI career sacks list with 15, on the strength of a 2007 season in which he racked up 9.5, which ranks fifth on the season sacks list. He also tied the second-most sacks in a single game when he recorded four at Indiana on Sept. 22, 2007. Davis was a second-team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and was a sixth-round selection by the Arizona Cardinals in the 2009 NFL Draft. He currently is in his third season with the Cardinals.

Liuget anchored a defensive line that led the Illini to a Texas Bowl victory in 2010, recording 63 tackles, 12.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks and 10 quarterback hurries. He was a second-team All-Big Ten selection by both the coaches and media, and was a first-round pick by the San Diego Chargers in the 2011 NFL Draft.

Moore keyed the defensive line that helped lead the Orange and Blue to the 2001 Big Ten championship, the 2002 Sugar Bowl and a 10-2 finish. He posted 41 tackles with eight tackles for loss, five sacks and 14 quarterback hurries in 2001. Moore also helped the Illini to the Bowl in 1999, totaling 46 tackles, eight TFLs and five sacks. He was an honorable mention All-Big Ten selection in 2001 and has played for the New York Jets as an offensive guard since 2003, taking a streak of 111 consecutive starts into the 2011 season.

Norwell joined Davis on the 2007 defensive line, collecting 32 tackles, 3.5 TFLs and 0.5 sacks. He also led the Illini with 7.5 TFLs and 3.0 sacks in 2005. Norwell also holds the school record for career starts by a defensive lineman with 46. He was an honorable mention All-Big Ten selection in 2007.

Strong helped anchor the defensive line from 2000-03, tying for the team lead in tackles for loss in 2002 and leading the squad in the category in 2003. He also shared the team lead in sacks with Jerry Schumacher in 2002. He finished his career with 28 tackles for loss after collecting 12 in 2002 and 11 in 2003. Strong was an All-Big Ten selection in 2002 and 2003.

A new position group of the All-Decade Team will be announced each weekday from Aug. 16-26.

The Illini open the 2011 season by hosting Arkansas State at 2:30 p.m. on Sept. 3. It is the first of five consecutive home games and eight total home games, the most in Memorial Stadium history. Season and single-game tickets are available here.

All-Decade Team
Will Davis, DL
Corey Liuget, DL
Brandon Moore, DL
Chris Norwell, DL
Derrick Strong, DL
Jason Reda, PK
Pierre Thomas, KR
Steve Weatherford, P