Williams Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Juice Williams was named to the 2009 Davey O'Brien Award watch list.
Juice Williams was named to the 2009 Davey O'Brien Award watch list.

Aug. 3, 2009

University of Illinois senior quarterback Juice Williams was named to the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List, as announced by Davey O'Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee.

Williams returns for his fourth season as Illinois' starting quarterback after leading the Big Ten in passing and total offense as a junior. Williams hopes to lead the Illini back to national prominence as he did in 2007 when the squad played in the 2008 Rose Bowl. In three seasons under center, he has racked up over 6,400 passing yards and over 2,000 on the ground. He is on pace to break Illinois' career records for passing and total offense and will challenge the Big Ten's all-time total offense mark.

The 2009 list highlights 33 quarterbacks who will compete for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback; however, all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) starting quarterbacks are equal candidates at this time. Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of The O'Brien Selection Committee. The list focuses on a select group of quarterbacks who have demonstrated what members of the Selection Committee have recognized as tremendous preseason talent. The award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

The O'Brien will follow performances of all FBS quarterbacks until Semifinalists are selected in late October. Semifinalists will be announced October 26; Finalists November 23; and the Winner December 10. During all rounds of voting, The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2009 O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2009 O'Brien Watch List:
Sam Bradford Oklahoma JR Big 12 Jarrett Brown West Virginia SR Big East Daryll Clark Penn State SR Big Ten Jimmy Clausen Notre Dame JR IND Aaron Corp USC SO Pac-10 Robert Griffin Baylor SO Big 12 Matt Grothe South Florida SR Big East Max Hall BYU SR MWC Tim Hiller Western Michigan SR MAC Jordan Jefferson LSU SO SEC Colin Kaepernick Nevada JR WAC Case Keenum Houston JR C-USA Dan LeFevour Central Michigan SR MAC Jake Locker Washington JR Pac-10 Ryan Mallett Arkansas SO SEC Jeremiah Masoli Oregon JR Pac-10 Colt McCoy Texas SR Big 12 Kellen Moore Boise State SO WAC Josh Nesbitt Georgia Tech JR ACC Tony Pike Cincinnati SR Big East Taylor Potts Texas Tech JR Big 12 Terrelle Pryor Ohio State SO Big Ten Todd Reesing Kansas SR Big 12 Kevin Riley California JR Pac-10 Zac Robinson Oklahoma State SR Big 12 Riley Skinner Wake Forest SR ACC Rusty Smith Florida Atlantic SR Sun Belt Jevan Snead Ole Miss JR SEC Tyrod Taylor Virginia Tech JR ACC Tim Tebow Florida SR SEC Adam Weber Minnesota JR Big Ten Juice Williams Illinois SR Big Ten Russell Wilson North Carolina State SO ACC