The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    Hoomanawanui Named To Mackey Award Watch List
    Illini senior TE Michael Hoomanawanui today was named to the John Mackey Award watch list.

    Illini senior TE Michael Hoomanawanui today was named to the John Mackey Award watch list.

    July 29, 2009

    University of Illinois senior tight end Michael Hoomanwanui was named to the 2009 John Mackey Award watch list, which was released by the Nassau County Sports Commission, today. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 10, 2009.

    Hoomanwanui was an honorable mention All-Big Ten selection after a junior season that saw him haul in 25 catches for 312 yards and two touchdowns. The Bloomington, Ill., native is in his fourth year as a starter and is listed on every magazine's preseason list for conference honors.

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eight NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the 2008 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins and the 2008 John Mackey Award recipient Chase Coffman of the Cincinnati Bengals.

    2009 John Mackey Award Watch List

    Jeffrey Anderson JR UAB
    Jake Ballard SR Ohio State
    Greg Boone SR Virginia Tech
    Nate Byham SR Pittsburgh
    Jeff Cottam SR Tennessee
    Ed Dickson SR Oregon
    Richard Dickson SR LSU
    TC Drake SR Kentucky
    Charlie Gantt JR Mich St.
    Riar Geer SR Colorado
    Garrett Graham SR Wisconsin
    Jermaine Gresham SR Oklahoma
    Rob Gronkowski JR Arizona
    Aaron Hernandez JR Florida
    Mike Hoomanawanui SR Illinois
    Blaine Irby JR Texas
    Jeron Mastrud SR Kansas St.
    Anthony McCoy SR USC
    Mike McNeil SR Iowa
    Tony Moeaki JR Nebraska
    Ryan Moya SR UCLA
    Logan Paulsen SR UCLA
    Dennis Pitta SR BYU
    Andrew Quarless JR Penn St.
    Kyle Rudolph SO Notre Dame
    Weslye Saunders JR South Carolina
    Cody Slate JR Marshall
    Tommy Trott SR Auburn
    DJ Williams JR Arkansas
    Ben Wooster SR Wake Forest

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us