The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics


    2001 Big Ten Champs Enjoy Return to Campus
    The 2001 team won the outright Big Ten title for the first time in 18 years.

    The 2001 team won the outright Big Ten title for the first time in 18 years.

    June 30, 2011

    Reunion Photos | Look back at the 2001 Season | 2001 Schedule/Results | @IlliniFootball on Twitter

    Nearly 50 former Fighting Illini football players, coaches and support staff from the 2001 Big Ten Championship team returned to Champaign June 24-25 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of their memorable season.

    The 2001 squad, led by former head coach Ron Turner, is the last Illini football team to win 10 games, ending the season with a 10-2 record, including a 7-1 mark in the Big Ten. They finished the season ranked No. 12 in the nation, were outright Big Ten champions and earned a berth in the Sugar Bowl against LSU.

    Because several individuals from the 2001 team are still playing or coaching in the NFL, the reunion was held in the summer rather than during football season. That meant NFL veterans like Brandon Lloyd, David Diehl, Tony Pashos and Brandon Moore were able to return to campus.

    The event, which was hosted by the Varsity "I" Association, included a welcome party on Friday evening, an athletic facility tour and golf outing on Saturday and a celebration dinner on Saturday night.

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us