Illinois Names Greatest Receivers in School History


May 15, 2008

College Football Hall of Famer David Williams leads the list of 10 Greatest Fighting Illini Receivers. He is joined by an impressive list of tight ends and receivers who have roamed Zuppke Field at Memorial Stadium. Williams, who topped the 100 mark in receptions during the 1984 season, leads all Illini receivers by 91 career receptions.

Among the list are three tight ends including Tim Brewster, Doug Dieken and Ken Dilger. Dieken and Dilger both enjoyed long NFL careers while Brewster is currently the head football coach at Big Ten rival Minnesota.

In addition to Williams, the receivers gaining recognition are Mike Bellamy, Rich Kreitling, Brandon Lloyd, Mike Martin, John Wright, Sr., and Walter Young, all of whom played for multiple years in the NFL. Lloyd is currently with the Chicago Bears. The Top 5 in Fighting Illini career reception yardage and six of the top eight in career receptions are represented on the list.

At the 2008 Illini football home opener on Sept. 6 against Eastern Illinois, the 10 greatest Fighting Illini from each position who played at Memorial Stadium will be recognized and introduced to the crowd.

That game has been selected as the Memorial Stadium Renaissance Celebration following a 21-month, $120 million renovation project. The Receivers group is the third of eight different groups that will be announced weekly, proceeded by the Linebackers and Specialists and followed by the Defensive Backs (May 20), Quarterbacks (May 24), Defensive Linemen (May 31), Offensive Linemen (June 6) and Running Backs (June 13).

Illini fans were able to vote on-line at from March 24 through April 17 to help select the honored athletes. Players on the ballot earned either first or second-team All-Big Ten honors, or played at least four years in the NFL.

Season tickets remain on sale for $225 for the sideline seating areas. For more information regarding tickets, contact the UI Athletics Ticket Office by phone at 217-333-3470 or 866-ILLINI-1, on the Internet at or in person at the Assembly Hall North Box Office.

10 Greatest Fighting Illini Receivers

Mike Bellamy, WR, 1988-89 Tim Brewster, TE, 1982-83
Doug Dieken, TE, 1968-70 Ken Dilger, TE, 1991-94
Rich Kreitling, E, 1957-58 Brandon Lloyd, WR, 1999-2002
Mike Martin, WR, 1980-82 David Williams, 1983-85
John Wright, Sr., WR, 1965-67 Walter Young, WR, 1999-2002