Hillmann Named Master Strength and Conditioning Coach

Illini football head strength and conditioning coach Aaron Hillmann will be honored by the CSCCa on May 9.
Illini football head strength and conditioning coach Aaron Hillmann will be honored by the CSCCa on May 9.

April 30, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Aaron Hillmann, Head Football Strength Coach at the University of Illinois, will be named Master Strength and Conditioning Coach by the Collegiate Strength and Conditioning Coaches association (CSCCa). This honor is the highest given in the strength and conditioning coaching profession, and the ceremony is undoubtedly the highlight of the association's National Conference each year. Master Strength and Conditioning Coach Heather Mason from University of Tennessee will present Coach Hillmann with the blue MSCC Jacket on Thursday evening, May 9, 2013, at the Downtown Kansas City Marriott Hotel in Kansas City, Missouri.

"This is an incredible honor for Aaron," says CSCCa Executive Director, Dr. Chuck Stiggins. "Being named a Master Strength and Conditioning Coach signifies a commitment to the student athlete, the University of Illinois Athletic Program, and the strength and conditioning profession. We are honored to have Coach Hillmann as a member of our association and to have him join the ranks of the Master Strength and Conditioning Coaches. He is truly a model of an outstanding strength and conditioning professional."

In order to receive this certification and corresponding title of distinction, an individual must first meet the following criteria:
1) Hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree;
2) Be a currently practicing, full-time strength & conditioning coach on the collegiate or professional level;
3) Hold current membership in the Collegiate Strength & Conditioning Coaches association (CSCCa);
4) Hold the CSCCa Certification - SCCC (Strength & Conditioning Coach Certified); and
5) Have a minimum of 12 years experience as a full-time strength and conditioning coach on the collegiate and/or professional level.

Twenty-two collegiate strength & conditioning coaches will receive the prestigious certification of Master Strength & Conditioning Coach at the 2013 MSCC Ceremony: Aaron M. Hillmann (University of Illinois), Sandy Abney (University of Texas), Robert J. Basile (St. Johns University), Reese Bridgman (Norfolk State University), David Deets (University of Arkansas), B.J. Faulk, Jason Gallucci (Princeton University), Mike Golden (University of Massachusetts), Alissa Goldman (University of Virginia), Larry N. Jackson, Jr. (Texas A&M), Matthew L. Jennings (Xavier University), Troy Jorgensen (Missouri Southern State University), Michael Kent (Colorado State University), Scott McDonald (Georgia Tech University), Ron McKeefery (Cincinnati Bengals), Richard Pendleton, Jr. (Bethune-Cookman University), Rick Perry (Central Michigan University), Erick Schork (St. Louis University), Steve Tamborra (Georgia Tech University), Chad T. Wade (University of Nebraska), Cedric Walthaw (North Carolina A&T State University), and John Williams (South Carolina University). These twenty-two coaches will join the existing 115 Master Strength & Conditioning Coaches, bringing the total number of MSCC's to 137.