Illinois' Miller Named to Lott Trophy Watch List

Brit Miller looks to extend Illinois' storied linebacker tradition this fall during his senior season.
Brit Miller looks to extend Illinois' storied linebacker tradition this fall during his senior season.

April 4, 2008

University of Illinois standout linebacker Brit Miller is among 42 of the nation's top collegiate defensive players who have been named to the 2008 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today. Miller is the second consecutive Illini defender to be named to the Lott Watch List, after J Leman earned finalist honors last season.

Miller, a senior linebacker, will be a four-year starter this season. He recorded 62 tackles in 2007 and 8.5 tackles for losses, including three against USC in the Rose Bowl. Miller is also a staple in the community and can be seen donating his time in schools, hospitals and many community functions.

Senior LB Brit Miller

There are seven repeat nominees for the award, including James Laurinaitis of Ohio State, a finalist last year. The other players nominated for a second straight year are Jonathan Casillas of Wisconsin, Maurice Crum, Jr. of Notre Dame, Brian Cushing of USC, Zack Follett of Cal, Nic Harris of Oklahoma and Darryl Richard of Georgia Tech. Thirty-five different schools are represented on the Watch List.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its fourth year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006 and Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007. Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated more than $450,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif. December 14th, 2008.

Further information on the Lott Trophy