Football
Illinois Football Spring Dates Announced

 
The Fighting Illini are making good use of their new, state-of-the-art training facility located at the north end of the Memorial Stadium playing field.
The Fighting Illini are making good use of their new, state-of-the-art training facility located at the north end of the Memorial Stadium playing field.
 

March 4, 2009

There may be no daily practice sessions, but the off season is no picnic for Fighting Illini football players. The squad has been hard at work in the weight room, working on strength and conditioning with Coach Lou Hernandez and his staff since the beginning of the semester. The players will soon see the benefits of having become bigger, faster and stronger when they hit the field March 31 for the first of 15 spring practices.

Illinois will hold three workouts the first week, and four workouts during each of the next three weeks during April, culminating with the annual Spring Game, which takes place at 1 p.m. April 25 in Memorial Stadium.

Here are the dates on which the Illini will practice (all times CDT):

Tues., March 31 - Practice #1, 4 p.m.
Thurs., April 2 - Practice #2, 4 p.m.
Sat., April 4 - Practice #3, 2 p.m.
Tues., April 7 - Practice #4, 4 p.m.
Wed., April 8 - Practice #5, 4 p.m.
Fri., April 10 - Practice #6, 4 p.m.
Sat., April 11 - Practice #7, 1 p.m. (Oak Park-River Forest H.S.)
Tues., April 14 - Practice #8, 4 p.m.
Wed., April 15 - Practice #9, 4 p.m.
Fri., April 17 - Practice #10, 4 p.m.
Sat., April 18 - Practice #11, 10 a.m.
Tues., April 21 - Practice #12, 4 p.m.
Wed., April 22 - Practice #13, 4 p.m.
Fri., April 24 - Practice #14, 4 p.m.
Sat., April 25 - Spring Game, 1 p.m.

The team will finish its regular routine of running and lifting this week, then embark upon a demanding two-week regime of early-morning competitive non-football workouts. Following a week of spring break, the Illini will be back in the classroom and on the field for "spring ball."

HEADLINES