Men's Basketball
Gill, Norman Next on List of Honored Jerseys

Kendall Gill earned consensus second-team All-America honors in 1990.
Kendall Gill earned consensus second-team All-America honors in 1990.

Sept. 4, 2008

Champaign, Ill. - Consensus All-Americans Kendall Gill and Ken Norman are the next two Fighting Illini to be recognized by having their jerseys permanently displayed at Assembly Hall.

The University of Illinois is honoring its most decorated basketball players in school history by hanging a banner with their name and number from the roof of the Assembly Hall. A total of 20 men's players have earned a spot on this distinguished list and their jerseys will be unveiled for the first time on Saturday, Sept. 13, at A Night of Legends alumni basketball game, scheduled for 7 p.m.

Tickets for the alumni game are $15 each and are on sale online or through the UI Athletics Ticket Office by phone at 217-333-3470 or 1-866-ILLINI-1, or in person at the Assembly Hall North Box Office.

Gill received consensus second-team All-America honors as a senior in 1990. He led the Big Ten in scoring, averaging 20 points per game, and was named first-team All-Big Ten and the University of Illinois Athlete of the Year. He helped lead the Flyin' Illini to an NCAA Final Four Appearance in 1989 as a junior, earning a spot on the All-Midwest Regional Team. A lottery draft pick, Gill went on to enjoy a 15-year NBA career. He still ranks 15th on the Illinois all-time scoring list with 1,409 points.

Norman earned consensus second-team All-America accolades in 1987 after averaging 20.7 points and 9.8 rebounds. A two-time first-team All-Big Ten selection, he led the conference in rebounding as a senior and remains sixth on the Big Ten's career field goal shooting list at 61 percent. A first-round draft pick, Norman played 10 seasons in the NBA. He currently ranks 16th on the UI career scoring chart with 1,393 points.

Gill and Norman join the previously announced names of Dee Brown, Chuck Carney, Jerry Colangelo, Jim Dawson, Bruce Douglas, Dike Eddleman, Bill Erickson, Bill Hapac, Luther Head, Walt Kirk, Don Sunderlage, Deron Williams and Ray Woods to have their jerseys hung at Assembly Hall. The remaining five players to be honored will be released leading up to the reunion game.

Players selected to have their jerseys hung at the Assembly Hall must have achieved one of the following criteria: 1) National Player of the Year; 2) Enshrined in the National Basketball Hall of Fame; 3) U.S. Olympian; 4) Big Ten Player of the Year; 5) Consensus First- or Second-Team All-American.

Ken Norman

Current List of Illinois Men's Basketball Honored Jerseys (15 of 20)
Ray Woods 1915-17 G Evanston, Ill. Chuck Carney 1920-22 F Evanston, Ill. Bill Hapac 1938-40 F Chicago, Ill. Walt Kirk 1944-45, 47 G Mt. Vernon, Ill. Dwight "Dike" Eddleman 1947-49 F Centralia, Ill. Bill Erickson 1947-50 G Rockford, Ill. Don Sunderlage 1949-51 G Elgin, Ill. Jerry Colangelo 1960-62 G Chicago Heights, Ill. Jim Dawson 1965-67 G Elmhurst, Ill. Bruce Douglas 1983-86 G Quincy, Ill. Ken Norman 1985-87 F Chicago, Ill. Kendall Gill 1987-90 G Matteson, Ill. Luther Head 2002-05 G Chicago, Ill. Deron Williams 2003-05 G The Colony, Texas Dee Brown 2003-06 G Maywood, Ill.