The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Basketball

    Cole, Kump Win Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards
    Bill Cole (above) and Nicole Kump are Illinois' winners of this year's Big Ten Outstanding Sporsmanship Award.

    Bill Cole (above) and Nicole Kump are Illinois' winners of this year's Big Ten Outstanding Sporsmanship Award.

    June 3, 2011

    Park Ridge, Ill. -

    Complete List of 2010-11 Sportsmanship Honorees in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    The Big Ten announced on Friday the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010-11 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship. Basketball senior Bill Cole and volleyball senior Nicole Kump earned the sportsmanship awards from the University of Illinois.

    One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    2011 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners
    Bill Cole, Sr., Basketball
    Nicole Kump, Sr., Volleyball

    Andy Bayer, So., Cross Country
    Sara Olson, Sr., Softball

    Chris Brant, Jr., Golf
    Kelsey Cermak, Sr., Basketball

    Frank Shotwell, Sr., Track and Field
    Dorian Shaw, Sr., Softball

    Michigan State
    Brandon Eckerle, Sr., Baseball
    Kathryn Mahoney, Sr., Gymnastics

    Blake Hoffarber, Sr., Basketball
    Dannie Skrove, Jr., Softball

    Matt Gailey, Sr., Baseball
    Rebecca Lederhausen, Sr., Golf

    Ohio State
    Paul Beery, Sr., Lacrosse
    Deborah Shim, Sr., Synchronized Swimming

    Penn State
    T.J. Howe, Sr., Golf
    Maggie Dunbar, Sr., Lacrosse

    Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Football
    Jaclyn Hart, Sr., Volleyball

    Scott Tolzien, Sr., Football
    Meghan Duggan, Sr., Ice Hockey

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us