The Official Home of University of Illinois Athletics

    Men's Basketball

    Illini Recap Season at 88th Annual Basketball Banquet
    Demetri McCamey was named Illini MVP at the 2009-10 Illinois basketball banquet.

    Demetri McCamey was named Illini MVP at the 2009-10 Illinois basketball banquet.

    April 13, 2010

    Urbana, Ill. - The Fighting Illini wrapped up the 2009-10 college basketball season tonight as more than 600 people gathered at the Holiday Inn for the 88th Annual Illinois Men's Basketball Banquet, sponsored by the Champaign-Urbana Kiwanis Club. The Illini posted a record of 21-15 overall and finished fifth in the Big Ten at 10-8. The Illini advanced to the NIT quarterfinals and topped 20 wins for the sixth time in seven seasons under Coach Bruce Weber. Receiving special recognition at the banquet was the Senior Class of 2010: Bubba Chisholm, Dominique Keller and Richard Semrau.

    Point guard Demetri McCamey was named team MVP, as voted on by his teammates and coaches. The only player in Illinois history to reach career milestones of 1,200 points as well as 500 assists in three seasons of competition, McCamey earned first-team All-Big Ten honors as a junior. He led the Illini in scoring, averaging 15.1 points, and ranked second in the nation in assists with a school-record average of 7.1 apg. He also led the Illini in steals (1.5 spg), while finishing third on the team in rebounding (3.6 rpg).

    Two Illini were repeat winners in statistical awards. Junior Mike Davis earned the Illini Rebounders Award for the second straight year, while junior Mike Tisdale won the Ralf Woods Free Throw Trophy for the second consecutive season. Davis led the Big Ten and ranked 39th in the NCAA in rebounding, averaging 9.2 boards. Tisdale, meanwhile, shot 82.4 percent from the line in Big Ten play.

    Junior Bill Cole took home a pair of awards. He was named Most Improved Player, as voted on by the coaches. Cole earned 21 starts, logging 21.3 minutes per game and averaging 4.4 points and 3.2 rebounds. He also earned the Matt Heldman "Matto" Award for having the highest total of the season in a number of "play-hard" statistics (deflections, steals, dives, loose balls, charges taken, 5-second violations drawn, blocked shots).

    Freshman D.J. Richardson claimed the inaugural Orange Krush 3-Point Award. Richardson, named Big Ten Freshman of the Year by league coaches, made 69 treys, the second-highest total ever by an Illini rookie. Fellow freshman Brandon Paul won the Lou Henson Courage Award, given to the player who takes the most charges on the year.

    Rounding out the hardware, Bubba Chisholm received the Kenny Battle Most Inspirational Player Award, as voted on by his teammates.

    2009-10 Fighting Illini Basketball Awards
    Illini Rebounders Award: Mike Davis
    Ralf Woods Free Throw Trophy: Mike Tisdale
    Orange Krush 3-Point Award: D.J. Richardson
    Lou Henson Courage Award: Brandon Paul
    Matt Heldman "Matto" Award: Bill Cole
    Kenny Battle Most Inspirational Player: Bubba Chisholm
    Most Improved Player: Bill Cole
    Most Valuable Player: Demetri McCamey

    Illinois Athletics

    Top Videos

    See more videos


    Follow Us On Twitter


    University of Illinois Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

    Bielfeldt Athletic Administration Building
    1700 S. Fourth Street, Champaign, IL 61820
    217-333-3630 | E-Mail Us