Justin Parr Named Semifinalist for Golden Spikes Award

Senior Justin Parr is the only player from the Big Ten among the 30 semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award.
Senior Justin Parr is the only player from the Big Ten among the 30 semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award.

May 28, 2013

USA Baseball Release | Vote for Justin Parr

DURHAM, N.C. - Senior Justin Parr was named a semifinalist for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award, announced USA Baseball Tuesday. The Illini center fielder is one of 30 players to make the list honoring the nation's top amateur baseball player. The Chillicothe, Ill., native is the only player from the Big Ten and one of six seniors among the semifinalists.

Parr - who also is a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, which is given to college baseball's top player by the NCBWA - turned in the second-longest hitting streak in the nation in 2013 with a school-record mark of 33 games. He was named Big Ten Player of the Year after leading the conference in average, hits, RBI, on-base percentage, total bases and fielding percentage. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection and earned his first Big Ten Player of the Week (4/15) honor after hitting for the cycle against Purdue. He also made the cut as a semifinalist for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, given to college baseball's Breakout Player of the Year. -- powered by MLB Advanced Media -- will once again be the online home for the award. The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and biographical information for the 2013 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at as the list of 30 players is narrowed to three finalists on Tuesday, June 4.

For the third year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network. On Friday, July 19, the three finalists for the award will be at the live presentation, which will air during The Rundown - at 2 p.m. ET - featuring interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner. The presentation will also be simulcast live on and

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2013. After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. A ballot featuring the names and accomplishments of the 30 semifinalists will now be sent to a group of more than 220 voters which will select the three finalists and eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2013 GSA by visiting and selecting their favorite amateur player.

2013 Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists
Name, Position, Class, School, Conference
Mark Appel, RHP, Senior, Stanford, Pac-12
Tyler Beede, RHP, Sophomore, Vanderbilt, SEC
David Berg, RHP, Sophomore, UCLA, Pac-12
Alex Bregman, IF, Freshman, Louisiana State, SEC
Kris Bryant, UTIL, Junior, San Diego, West Coast
Kerry Doane, RHP, Senior, East Tennessee State, Atlantic Sun
Hunter Dozier, IF, Senior, Stephen F. Austin, Southland
Kent Emanuel, LHP, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Freshman, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Zane Evans, C/RHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC
Marco Gonzales, LHP, Junior, Gonzaga, West Coast
Jonathan Gray, RHP, Junior, Oklahoma, Big 12
Eric Jagielo, IF/OF, Junior, Notre Dame, Big East
Mason Katz, IF, Sr, Louisiana State, SEC
Tony Kemp, OF, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Michael Lorenzen, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Kyle McGowin, RHP, Sophomore, Savannah State, Mid-Eastern
Colin Moran, IF, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Aaron Nola, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC
Justin Parr, OF, Senior, Illinois, Big 10
D.J. Peterson, IF, Junior, New Mexico, Mountain West
Nick Petree, RHP, RS Junior, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Jimmie Sherfy, RHP , Junior, Oregon, Pac-12
Ryne Stanek, RHP, Junior, Arkansas, SEC
Mike Tauchman, OF, Senior, Bradley, Missouri Valley
Jeff Thompson, RHP, Junior, Louisville, Big East
Trea Turner, IF, Sophomore, NC State, ACC
Bobby Wahl, RHP, Junior, Mississippi, SEC
Jimmy Yezzo, IF, Junior, Delaware, Colonial Athletic
Kevin Ziomek, LHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC